PC experts: Bestest and cheapest place to buy OS - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 06-28-2018, 11:06 AM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80349
Location: Wampum, PA
Posts: 1,299
My 8 year flawless gaming pc finally crashed. It boots up to a microcrap windows symbol and says Preparing Automatic Repair for hours on end. It will not boot in safe mode.

I believe it is time for a reinstall. I am behind in computer tech and the best places to purchase from. Where can I get valid cd of windows 10 cheap? I got a couple hits on google but looking for more.

My latest version in my pc box is windows 2000.

Last edited by muddeprived; 06-28-2018 at 11:07 AM.
muddeprived is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:12 AM   #2 (permalink)
I'm a little angel
 
Entropy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4395
Location: Lakeland, FL
Posts: 22,080
Send a message via ICQ to Entropy Send a message via AIM to Entropy
I just went to bestbuy and bought it on a flash drive. I got an OEM version for cheaper and I had to make the tech go in the back and get it. You don't get support for it and there are some other nuances, but whatever..

I wouldn't trust the places online that are cheap. Just look at the Amazon reviews of people getting hosed for that.

I was after Pro though, for my own needs. Most folks are probably alright with Home.
__________________
Quote:
We're women...we know evil. We invented evil
Quote:
...the vagina is a warm, moist and tropical area.
Entropy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:26 AM   #3 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
nahmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 57779
Posts: 22,213
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddeprived View Post
My 8 year flawless gaming pc finally crashed. It boots up to a microcrap windows symbol and says Preparing Automatic Repair for hours on end. It will not boot in safe mode.

I believe it is time for a reinstall. I am behind in computer tech and the best places to purchase from. Where can I get valid cd of windows 10 cheap? I got a couple hits on google but looking for more.

My latest version in my pc box is windows 2000.
I'm assuming you have win7? Get a win7 rescue disk, boot from it and you should have the option to restore a system restore point. Pick one a few days before you had the issue and you should be able to get it up and running.

I would still upgrade to win10. Just make sure that your hardware is supported under win10. Some older vid cards done work so well.
__________________
For the best deal on 8 lug disc brakes click here-->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


World Proof your children, Don't child proof the world
nahmus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:27 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5371
Location: TN
Posts: 34,196
Send a message via MSN to rockota
friend a person who works for a Microsoft Gold partner... ask what he/she gets on their partner discount...
rockota is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:31 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Member # 80349
Location: Wampum, PA
Posts: 1,299
Quote:
Originally Posted by nahmus View Post
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddeprived View Post
My 8 year flawless gaming pc finally crashed. It boots up to a microcrap windows symbol and says Preparing Automatic Repair for hours on end. It will not boot in safe mode.

I believe it is time for a reinstall. I am behind in computer tech and the best places to purchase from. Where can I get valid cd of windows 10 cheap? I got a couple hits on google but looking for more.

My latest version in my pc box is windows 2000.
I'm assuming you have win7? Get a win7 rescue disk, boot from it and you should have the option to restore a system restore point. Pick one a few days before you had the issue and you should be able to get it up and running.

I would still upgrade to win10. Just make sure that your hardware is supported under win10. Some older vid cards done work so well.
Pc came with 7 but I upgraded to 10 when it came out.
muddeprived is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:34 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Member # 212988
Posts: 3,666
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddeprived View Post
Pc came with 7 but I upgraded to 10 when it came out.
Windows 10 is activated online so if you rebuild it without a code you can skip it. Then when you get online it will automatically activate it. No license required. You essentially have windows 10 license already via the free upgrade just not a physical code.

Last edited by HankScorpi0; 06-28-2018 at 11:34 AM.
HankScorpi0 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:41 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Member # 322034
Posts: 498
I'd get a used Dell with good specs off eBay

i5 or i7 with at least 8gb ram and a solid state
montrose818 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:44 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 18283
Location: Florida
Posts: 3,741
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankScorpi0 View Post
Windows 10 is activated online so if you rebuild it without a code you can skip it. Then when you get online it will automatically activate it. No license required. You essentially have windows 10 license already via the free upgrade just not a physical code.
This - you need to go to a computer with functioning windows 10 and create a bootable restore flash drive. https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
__________________
There are no rules. You have to think!
demonranger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:45 AM   #9 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by muddeprived View Post
Pc came with 7 but I upgraded to 10 when it came out.
Microsoft has ISOs online that you can download and install. As Hank said you will authenticate when you get online
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:46 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Member # 208624
Location: Edmond, OK
Posts: 3,156
Quote:
Originally Posted by montrose818 View Post
I'd get a used Dell with good specs off eBay

i5 or i7 with at least 8gb ram and a solid state
8GB of ram won't make for a very good gaming system, imho. I'd say 16GB minimum.
__________________
Mountain Havoc Alum - '16
3rd place passenger seat ballast and pointer of rocks
93_Fummins is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 11:48 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 47838
Location: Southern CA
Posts: 167
A lot has happened in 8 years.....Video cards are a lot faster....

It might be time to get new hardware.....
__________________
84 CJ7 - 5.7L TBI, SOA, ARB, Det, OBA, Full Roll Cage, 35's
D44 Flat top in prog
DDawg16 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 12:03 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Member # 322034
Posts: 498
Quote:
Originally Posted by 93_Fummins View Post
8GB of ram won't make for a very good gaming system, imho. I'd say 16GB minimum.
Oops, missed gaming system

Damn it man, are you just following me correcting my posts
montrose818 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 12:06 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55560
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 2,581
I bought a few win 10 pro licenses for $4 from a dude in Romania. eBay shut him down quick but he still sent them to me.
__________________
A bunch of old crap
Mattafact is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 12:23 PM   #14 (permalink)
ARB,NITRO,RCV vendor
 
Barefoot_Offroad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Member # 485986
Location: Pacific Northwest
Posts: 610
that promotion is over the upgrade will not show up now. If you have a win 7 key, just install that. If you need media you can call Microsoft and order a cd, there may be a min charge like $20
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Lowest Prices on Lift Kits, Winches, Lockers, gears and much more
Marysville, WA
888-672-3305

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Barefoot_Offroad is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 12:31 PM   #15 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
everyone seems really intent on getting you to spend money unnecessarily

Here, click on link and then choose the "use the tool to create installation media"

https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/soft...load/windows10
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:03 PM   #16 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
nahmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 57779
Posts: 22,213
You can use a win7 or win 10 rescue disk to boot from. You just want access to the gui so you can restore from a restore point.

Did you try hitting F8 and try booting from last configuration that worked?
__________________
For the best deal on 8 lug disc brakes click here-->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


World Proof your children, Don't child proof the world
nahmus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:07 PM   #17 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by nahmus View Post
You can use a win7 or win 10 rescue disk to boot from. You just want access to the gui so you can restore from a restore point.

Did you try hitting F8 and try booting from last configuration that worked?
By default F8 to enter into boot options is not enabled on Win 10
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
nahmus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Member # 57779
Posts: 22,213
really? I never noticed. I have a nice little usb stick with all the iso's on it to boot from. I might as well have asked if he tried booting form his rescue floppy hahaha
__________________
For the best deal on 8 lug disc brakes click here-->
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


World Proof your children, Don't child proof the world
nahmus is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:40 PM   #19 (permalink)
Unregistered User
 
Motorcharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Member # 224886
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,978
Install 10 without a key then get on MS's help site and go to the live chat. Tell them you swapped the motherboard out in your PC and they'll remotely activate 10 for you with a new key. Unlike previous versions of Windows the keys are tied to motherboards but they'll just give you another copy any time you swap out hardware.

That, and they're trying to phase out 7 much faster than they did XP and want everyone on 10 anyway. When I reinstalled 10 on my laptop I had to do the above and they didn't even wait for me to tell them why it needed to be reactivated it. They just flat out gave me another key and that was like 3 months ago.
Motorcharge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Member # 212988
Posts: 3,666
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barefoot_Offroad View Post
that promotion is over the upgrade will not show up now. If you have a win 7 key, just install that. If you need media you can call Microsoft and order a cd, there may be a min charge like $20
Wrong bad advice
HankScorpi0 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
larboc@hotmail.com's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member # 70148
Location: da U.P. of MI eh?
Posts: 6,234
Fuck 10, install 7.
__________________
I don't pay nothing for anything.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
larboc@hotmail.com is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:57 PM   #22 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcharge View Post
Install 10 without a key then get on MS's help site and go to the live chat. Tell them you swapped the motherboard out in your PC and they'll remotely activate 10 for you with a new key. Unlike previous versions of Windows the keys are tied to motherboards but they'll just give you another copy any time you swap out hardware.

That, and they're trying to phase out 7 much faster than they did XP and want everyone on 10 anyway. When I reinstalled 10 on my laptop I had to do the above and they didn't even wait for me to tell them why it needed to be reactivated it. They just flat out gave me another key and that was like 3 months ago.
why should he tell them he swapped motherboards? Win 10 has been authenticated on his machine, reinstall and it will reauthenticate
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 01:58 PM   #23 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by HankScorpi0 View Post
Wrong bad advice
there is an incredible amount of that in this thread
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 02:00 PM   #24 (permalink)
Unregistered User
 
Motorcharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Member # 224886
Location: Virginia
Posts: 8,978
Quote:
Originally Posted by Joe_W View Post
why should he tell them he swapped motherboards? Win 10 has been authenticated on his machine, reinstall and it will reauthenticate
Because I only read the first post and assumed everything else was shitty advice.

Last edited by Motorcharge; 06-28-2018 at 02:00 PM.
Motorcharge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 06-28-2018, 02:02 PM   #25 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,524
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcharge View Post
Because I only read the first post and assumed everything else was shitty advice.
you were pretty close to correct
__________________
Sure, there are 49 other states in the Union, but they are smaller, wussier, and the people talk funny.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muddin
The vagina doubles as a neat little fanny pack.
Joe_W is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 06:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.