Computer Nerds - Laptop CPU "Upgrade?" - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-09-2018, 03:00 PM   #1 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
Computer Nerds - Laptop CPU "Upgrade?"

My daily driver laptop is getting long in the tooth. It came stock with a 2nd gen Core i5-2410M CPU. When new there were 3 CPU options an i3, i5, and i7. The i7 option was the i7-2620M.

Encoding videos with VLC is eating up a lot of resources, I've already got 16 Gb of ram on the way to double my ram, but I want a little more processing power too.

Upgrading from the i5 to i7 isn't a whole lot of performance boost. Both are dual core with hyper threading. The i7-2620M has a little higher base and turbo clock speed, and an extra Mb of cache. Both are 35W TDP, throttle at 100 C, Sandy Bridge, mobile chips, and I'm 99.9999% sure the i7-2620M will drop right in, boot right up, and have no thermal issues, since it was an OE chip option to begin with.

Moving up the Sandy Bridge family tree, you find the i7-2640M, basically the same as the i7-2620M, just a little higher clock speeds, and the best as I can tell, was the fastest mobile Sandy Bridge available with a 35W TDP. I'm 99% sure the the i7-2640M will work too.

Any higher up the Sandy Bridge list, you run into true quad core CPUs. The fastest, non-extreme edition, "cheap," quad core i7 I can find is the i7-2670QM, it's almost as fast as the 2860QM, but half the price. The i7-2670QM has 6 Mb cache, 4 cores, hyper threading, the same turbo clock as the 2640m, but has a TDP 10W higher than the stock options.

I'm ~90% sure the i7-2670QM will boot, with the latest bios update, but I'm a little concerned about the 45W TDP. The laptop has a single heatpipe with a modest heatsink, and a single fan.

Stick some I.C. Diamond or MX-4 Thermal compound on it, and take the $45 gamble on the quad core i7-2670QM, or play it safe with the i7-2640M?

i5-2410M 2 Cores, HT, 3 Mb Cache, 2.3 Ghz base, 2.9 Ghz turbo 35 W
i7-2640M 2 Cores, HT, 4 Mb Cache, 2.4 Ghz base, 3.5 Ghz turbo 35 W
i7-2760QM 4 Cores, HT, 6 Mb Cache, 2.8 Ghz base, 3.5 Ghz turbo, 45 W
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 03:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 30,006
it will probably be fine.

the CPU will throttle if it isn't..
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 03:52 PM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Member # 278
Location: In the hills outside Georgetown, CA
Posts: 4,926
Are you sure the CPU is removable? I forget when Laptops went to BGA setup(soldered in)
__________________
-1971 FJ55(aka Trail55): 6.0L-NV4500-LC split case, SOA, D60s, ARB'd... and cupholders
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

-1972 FJ55(aka Trail50): Turbo 5.3L-4L80-Blackbox-split case, D60s, ARB'd *stalled*
-1968 Mustang Fastback: not a restore but a refresh
Lil'John is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 04:13 PM   #4 (permalink)
Unregistered User
 
Motorcharge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Member # 224886
Location: Virginia
Posts: 9,030
It's likely it's soldered in there. You'd be much better off just buying another laptop off craigslist, especially if there's a college near you.

I see stuff with 5th and 6th gen i7s all the time for under $200. Hell, my current one I paid $40 for because it was "dead". Shitty 5400 RPM HDD in it was dead. Popped in a $40 SSD and it runs great and is fast as hell now.
Motorcharge is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 05:13 PM   #5 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
It's not soldered, it's a socket. One of the last Vostros, a "business" grade laptop, this won't be the first time I've had it apart.

Already upgraded the RAM once, right after I got it, and have replaced the DC jack twice now.

I've had a lot of laptops apart over the years, can't recall one that didn't have a socketed CPU. I know soldered CPUs are a thing, just not a thing I've dealt with. I think my old Atom powered netbook was probably soldered, but I never took it apart to find out.

However, my HTPC and my FreeNAS box both have soldered CPUs, and they're "desktop" motherboards.
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 06:02 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 30,006
only the low voltage stuff of that era was permanently affixed.

atoms and shit.
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 06:05 PM   #7 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
climbit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 161770
Location: Sandy Eggo
Posts: 3,711
you likely need more GPU not CPU.
__________________
Quote:
Not knowing that over 50,000 random 4-wheelers are viewing your wet coochielips; priceless.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
climbit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 06:53 PM   #8 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by climbit View Post
you likely need more GPU not CPU.
True.

Sadly I don't think there's an upgrade path for the AMD Radeon HD 6630M, it was better than the Intel graphics when new, just, and is basically obsolete today.

I use Adobe Premier Elements a lot too, so even if I had a big fancy GPU it wouldn't help, since the neutered Elements version doesn't allow GPU rendering.

No thunderbolt ports, so no hope of an external GPU, not that I'd want to deal with that nonsense anyway.

If I get real serious about it, I'll revamp the ancient "gaming" PC into a workstation, but I want to set on the couch watch netflix, and do stuff on the laptop, not sit in the office on a workstation.

$70 worth of used RAM, and a $45 used CPU sound a lot more palatable than a new workstation. Have you priced RAM and GPUs lately, Jeebus!
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-09-2018, 09:21 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Member # 322034
Posts: 667
Quote:
Originally Posted by Motorcharge View Post
It's likely it's soldered in there.
never heard of a soldering iron?



giggity
montrose818 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-10-2018, 01:23 AM   #10 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
ev13wt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member # 52443
Location: Sunnyvale / Frankfurt
Posts: 20,113
We are at generation ... 6.

Get something new. I predict whatever you do to your gen2, you will not reach more than 8-10% performance boost.

It's a generation thing more than anything.
__________________
eVil.TwiT
"Always take more trash from nature than you bring."
ev13wt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2018, 08:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
One of these things is not like the other, one of these things just doesn't belong...

I picked up a used i7-2760qm on eBay for $40 to my door. Original i5-2430m on the left i7-2760qm on the right. The i7's die is physically bigger, I hadn't expected that, I guess I should have, since it has 4 physical processors and the i5 only has 2.


Out with the old, and in with the new. I tried something new, after a lot of research (a solid 15 min of Googling and reading ) I bought some Kryonaut Thermal Grizzly, I've been an Arctic Silver man, for as long as I've been building PC's, but this Thermal Grizzly is supposed to be the best non-electrically-conductive stuff on the market, I figured the i7 was going to need all the help it could get with the OE single heatpipe heatsink cooling it and the GPU. After a through cleaning with isopropyl, I dabbed Thermal Grizzly all over the "new" i7 and the GPU, it doesn't spread as easy as Arctic Silver.


Heatsink back on.


If I have thermal issues, or if I'm feeling froggy, I may pull it back apart, and fill the voids on either side of the heatpipe on the CPU block with some thermal epoxy to help heat transfer. I've got some Arctic Alumina 2 part epoxy, and have seen minor improvements using it in the past.

Moment of truth, with the latest bios (A12) from Dell's webiste...

It POSTs!!!

Everything shows up in bios as it should.



16 Gb of ram and an i7-2760qm in a Dell Vostro 3550!

Last edited by bigdaddylee82; 08-22-2018 at 08:59 PM.
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-22-2018, 11:58 PM   #12 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
ev13wt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Member # 52443
Location: Sunnyvale / Frankfurt
Posts: 20,113
So how much faster is it now?
__________________
eVil.TwiT
"Always take more trash from nature than you bring."
ev13wt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 04:52 AM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Member # 20728
Location: ' OR '1'='1
Posts: 5,184
All of that to upgrade and you're still running a spindle drive? First thing to upgrade in an older PC is to a SSD. That will give you the best bang for the buck performance boost in my opinion.
Romogo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 05:55 AM   #14 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by ev13wt View Post
So how much faster is it now?
I've not put it through it's paces yet. Windows Experience Index improved 0.7 points, for whatever that's worth.

The curious thing, is that the Graphics: Desktop Performance for Windows Aero, improved an entire point, and Gaming Graphics 0.1 points. Both CPUs have the same on die, Intel HD 3000 GPU, the only difference is the i7 has a 0.1Ghz faster clock speed, 1.3Ghz vs. 1.2Ghz, not enough to make that big of a difference, at least I wouldn't think. I don't think the Windows Experience Index is using the discrete GPU, if it is, that's not changed.

I'm kind of wondering if the bulk of the improvement isn't more from the better thermal paste, than the new CPU.

i5


i7

Last edited by bigdaddylee82; 08-23-2018 at 06:12 AM.
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 06:05 AM   #15 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by Romogo View Post
All of that to upgrade and you're still running a spindle drive? First thing to upgrade in an older PC is to a SSD. That will give you the best bang for the buck performance boost in my opinion.
$40 for a recycled CPU, $120 for a 500 Gb EVO.

SSD is coming, but that old spinny drive was pretty good back in the day, 7200 RPM, free fall sensor, etc. Time marches on though, according to that Windows Experience Index above, the Hard Drive is now the bottle neck.
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 06:14 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Benzz0's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Member # 22923
Location: Richmond, Va
Posts: 27,739
Once you add the SSD you're going to see a hell of a lot more difference in boot time asnd OS speed now that NVMe2 is out the NVMe's are getting cheaper
__________________
كافر
Benzz0 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 07:07 AM   #17 (permalink)
Hophead
 
Joe_W's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Member # 4829
Location: Leander, Tx
Posts: 77,549
Send a message via AIM to Joe_W
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benzz0 View Post
Once you add the SSD you're going to see a hell of a lot more difference in boot time asnd OS speed now that NVMe2 is out the NVMe's are getting cheaper
This. The SSD may be 3x the price but the difference in performance will be more than 3x better than the processor swap
Joe_W is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 08:23 AM   #18 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Member # 121794
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6,187
I will have to look into upgrading my laptop to a SSD. I did not know that I could do that. My laptop has turned into a slow POS in the last year or so. I think it is about 5 years old now.

https://www.laptopmag.com/articles/ssd-upgrade-tutorial
__________________
If you pretend to know everyting you will not learn anything.
thedonn007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 08:38 AM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 143737
Location: NH
Posts: 2,341
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddylee82 View Post
If I get real serious about it, I'll revamp the ancient "gaming" PC into a workstation, but I want to set on the couch watch netflix, and do stuff on the laptop, not sit in the office on a workstation.
Newer video card with HDMI port to hook to the TV and wireless keyboard and mouse, boom.

That's pretty much what I just did, older quad core computer from work that was an engineers workstation $120, and a Nvidia GTX750 for $60.

The future is now old man
__________________
POS Ranger on narrow 3/4 tons with a 357w noise maker
posford is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 08:48 AM   #20 (permalink)
I'm not your buddeh
 
D_JEEPER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 99624
Location: or '1'='1
Posts: 13,069
Blog Entries: 1
You will be hard pressed to replace the GPU in a Vostro laptop

The best upgrade you can do, as stated, is to ditch the spindle as a primary (pop it over to the second HDD slot) and boot to a SSD. Any heavy-use applications make it to the SSD (Photoshop and rendering software), but everything else stays on the spinny drive.

I upgraded the core2duo on my vostro 1700, 8 gig ram, but I didn't really notice the improvement until I went to SSD. I was about to toss the laptop until I did that.

Good job in not letting any smoke out (yet) on that thing. Remember to always store it heat vent up haha
__________________
MOLON LABE
Quote:
If I was an FBI agent on one of these stings, I wouldn't be able to resist building up a suicide vest rigged with confetti cannons.

ALLAHU ACKBAR! "pop"
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
D_JEEPER is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 11:04 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55560
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 2,669
SSD x elevendy. It's day and night difference.
__________________
A bunch of old crap
Mattafact is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 03:37 PM   #22 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 54666
Location: The Natural State
Posts: 3,199
Quote:
Originally Posted by D_JEEPER View Post
You will be hard pressed to replace the GPU in a Vostro laptop

The best upgrade you can do, as stated, is to ditch the spindle as a primary (pop it over to the second HDD slot) and boot to a SSD. Any heavy-use applications make it to the SSD (Photoshop and rendering software), but everything else stays on the spinny drive.

I upgraded the core2duo on my vostro 1700, 8 gig ram, but I didn't really notice the improvement until I went to SSD. I was about to toss the laptop until I did that.

Good job in not letting any smoke out (yet) on that thing. Remember to always store it heat vent up haha
Only the one HDD slot, so it'll be cloning this drive to an SSD, no biggy.

Thanks! I don't thank I've owned a laptop that I haven't eventually had its guts out a time or two. I've only bricked one (knock on wood), back when you used to actually have to de-and-re-solder DC Jacks onto the motherboard to replace them. I inadvertently dribbled some solder onto the board without knowing it, didn't find out until I tried to power it up.



Also, 8 Cores!!!
bigdaddylee82 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-23-2018, 09:48 PM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Member # 18432
Location: AZ
Posts: 196
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigdaddylee82 View Post
$40 for a recycled CPU, $120 for a 500 Gb EVO.

SSD is coming, but that old spinny drive was pretty good back in the day, 7200 RPM, free fall sensor, etc. Time marches on though, according to that Windows Experience Index above, the Hard Drive is now the bottle neck.
Well it's not 500GB but it's way under $120.
https://www.newegg.com/Product/Produ...82E16820225111
__________________
Welcome to America
[B]NOW GO HOME[/B]
FATBOB2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2018, 02:31 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Member # 121794
Location: Michigan
Posts: 6,187
Is it worth it for me to upgrade my 500 GB HDD to a 500 GB SSD? My laptop is 6 years old with the following specs, I added 4 gb of ram to get to the 8 gb total now, I did that a couple of years ago hoping it would speed things up. I basically just use it for Microsoft office products, minor picture editing, and cruising the internet.

Also, it has a 17" screen, and the battery does not hold a charge, so it is being used as a "portable desktop".

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2501 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
8 GB DDR3 memory
500 GB HDD
__________________
If you pretend to know everyting you will not learn anything.

Last edited by thedonn007; 08-24-2018 at 02:43 PM.
thedonn007 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-24-2018, 03:54 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Member # 55560
Location: Central Valley, CA
Posts: 2,669
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedonn007 View Post
Is it worth it for me to upgrade my 500 GB HDD to a 500 GB SSD? My laptop is 6 years old with the following specs, I added 4 gb of ram to get to the 8 gb total now, I did that a couple of years ago hoping it would speed things up. I basically just use it for Microsoft office products, minor picture editing, and cruising the internet.

Also, it has a 17" screen, and the battery does not hold a charge, so it is being used as a "portable desktop".

Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-3210M CPU @ 2.50GHz, 2501 Mhz, 2 Core(s), 4 Logical Processor(s)
8 GB DDR3 memory
500 GB HDD
Absolutely. The SSD is the best difference you can make in any computer.

You can batteries for next to nothing on Ebay. I look for ones with Japanese cells in them. Seem to hold up fine for what I use it for.
__________________
A bunch of old crap
Mattafact is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:00 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.