Mortgage Know it Alls, step on in - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-12-2019, 11:23 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 52361
Mortgage Know it Alls, step on in

I have little to no debt, decent assets, good income, terrible credit, probably 500, after divorce. I was ok with this, because I was going to rent 2 more years until my oldest starts driving, then build a shop and put a manufactured home on some property I own outside of town and live debt free.

My aunt, whom I've been renting a single family home from for several years is now in a hurry to sell, to leave the state and buy a home near her grandchildren.

Decent house, very close to family, and my kids schools, but no room for me to build a shop, or even put an ugly truck in a side yard without a helicopter. It was great when i was a broke single dad with a baby, but won't work for the next chapter.

House and mortgage in aunt and grandma's name, 21 years left, 5.3% interest 126,000 due. House roughly comps at 185k, I can buy it at 160k no Realtors/commissions.

My plan at this point is to buy it and spend a year, 2 max preparing to sell, then get out before prices come down.

If my mother were to buy it, with me on it, it would be a 2nd home for her, and change interest rates.

What's my options to assume my aunts loan thru a title agency, para legal, etc? Would this be acceptable to free her up when she goes shopping for her next house, which will also be with a 30k down payment?

Is there a better way where my mother's great credit and my savings/income could get me a better rate?
PROJECTJUNKIE is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-12-2019, 11:42 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 4387