Ford Super Duty Tire Pressure Monitors - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-12-2019, 10:08 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
Ford Super Duty Tire Pressure Monitors

This may be a question, but here it goes:

Will 2019 Super Duty tire pressure monitors work with a 2011 Super Duty?

Backstory:

Needed new tires for my truck. It was much cheaper to buy a set of new takeoffs from some bro dozer than it was to buy new tires. Got a set of aluminum 18" wheels with Goodyear Wrangler A/T Kevlar whatever tires with less than 400 miles on them for $900. I want to bolt them on to my 2011 F250, but don't know anything about the tire pressure monitors and if I will have to swap them from my old wheels to the new ones. Anyone know?

Thank you.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2019, 10:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Member # 32583
Location: Oak Harbor, WA
Posts: 127
IDK if they will work, but you can try the programming procedures to find out.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
ford005 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-12-2019, 11:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Member # 104517
Location: Middle of MT
Posts: 3,043
I've just been driving around with the light on for over 100k miles.

Thought it would burn out eventually, but it's still going strong.

The light on the dash wasn't nearly as effective at alerting me as the chunks of rubber flying and what sounded like a shotgun as the tire distributed itself among the weeds.

So I decided they were pretty well useless as I actually check the tires and airbags and haven't ever bothered fixing that one.
__________________
R.I.P. Jason Payne
chevy_man is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 04:41 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member # 167070
Location: w. ma
Posts: 230
I ran 11 take offs on my 12 for winter setups and just dealt with the light.
BUCKLAND is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 06:39 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
This truck has the screen in the instrument cluster and makes lots of annoying noises and flashes annoying visuals if one of the tires gets low. I am not going to drive around with that shit going on daily. I will break beads and swap sensors before dealing with that. I am really hoping there is a way to use the 2019 sensors though. I will look up the learn process and see if I can get it to work this weekend.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 08:36 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member # 71359
Location: South Park
Posts: 9
http://www.thetpmsforum.com/showthre...eset-Procedure

Sensors should be the same.
78BroncoRM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 11:01 AM   #7 (permalink)
Rock God
 
xr-nut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Member # 175047
Posts: 1,034
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDXSR5 View Post
This may be a question, but here it goes:
According to napa they are different. I knew they were on '16+ f150 trucks, so I looked at our parts program and they changed in 17 on the SD trucks also. Sorry, think they will not work. And, from what we learned on our f150 is that we cannot program them anymore like the older trucks. We either have to buy a new tpms tool or take them over to the ford store. good times, change is always a good thing!
__________________
“Those who make peaceful revolution impossible, make violent revolution inevitable.” JFK
xr-nut is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 03:01 PM   #8 (permalink)
E. Spengler
 
Subybaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 206384
Location: Spenard, Alaska
Posts: 3,787
.
Attached Images
 
__________________
We had part of a slinky. But I straightened it.
Subybaja is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 03:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by Subybaja View Post
.
For some reason this doesn't work for Fords. I have had an inflated tire with a good sensor in my bed while my spare is on and it still throws a warning. It's like it knows if the wheel(s) are not spinning.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 03:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5371
Location: TN
Posts: 34,224
Send a message via MSN to rockota
I believe some are only energized when in motion.
rockota is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 03:38 PM   #11 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17947
Location: Seabeck WA
Posts: 3,587
Send a message via AIM to jaluhn
Take the sensors off your current rims, put them all together is a small tank somehow and pressurize to 100 psi..... problem solved.
jaluhn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 03:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2019
Member # 867790
Posts: 0
Quote:
Originally Posted by jaluhn View Post
Take the sensors off your current rims, put them all together is a small tank somehow and pressurize to 100 psi..... problem solved.
Wow where did you get that idea?
OverthrottleV2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 04:00 PM   #13 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
Greg? Is that you? Fuck.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 04:10 PM   #14 (permalink)
E. Spengler
 
Subybaja's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 206384
Location: Spenard, Alaska
Posts: 3,787
Bummer.

Someone should sell a signal generator for testing the system.
__________________
We had part of a slinky. But I straightened it.
Subybaja is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 06:14 PM   #15 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 111254
Location: Tucson, Arizona
Posts: 1,260
Someone should put a fucking switch on the dash so you turn the cock suckers off.
__________________
Science flies men to the moon. Religion flies men into buildings.
JolietJames is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 07:35 PM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Member # 71359
Location: South Park
Posts: 9
Quote:
Originally Posted by xr-nut View Post
According to napa they are different. I knew they were on '16+ f150 trucks, so I looked at our parts program and they changed in 17 on the SD trucks also. Sorry, think they will not work. And, from what we learned on our f150 is that we cannot program them anymore like the older trucks. We either have to buy a new tpms tool or take them over to the ford store. good times, change is always a good thing!
Part numbers may have changed (because of physical differences) but the signal that is transmitted may be the same. I remember being able to replace the banded sensors with valve stem sensors on 2010-2016-ish Fords. Same with GMs aluminum stem sensors with newer rubber stem sensors.

Worth a try if your truck does not need the TPMS tool and you can use the deflate method. Keep in mind the tire needs to deflate pretty low before the horn sounds during the learn process. If it does not honk, then all you lost is time and air pressure
78BroncoRM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 07:46 PM   #17 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
So I read the link provided above, but how do I know if I can do the honk method? The link was confusing.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 08:34 PM   #18 (permalink)
What did you expect?
 
HAPPYJOHN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Member # 119290
Location: near the 'con, CA.
Posts: 12,723
Quote:
Originally Posted by rockota View Post
I believe some are only energized when in motion.
ding, ding, ding.

Try them, worst case, you have to swap over, or maybe put a picture of the overall girl in front of the light.
__________________
Quote:
I'd call you a cunt but you don't have the depth or the warmth.
Fuck em' and feed them fish heads-
HAPPYJOHN is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 10:08 PM   #19 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Member # 17947
Location: Seabeck WA
Posts: 3,587
Send a message via AIM to jaluhn
Quote:
Originally Posted by OverthrottleV2 View Post
Wow where did you get that idea?
Pulled it out of my rear. And apparently someone else had the same idea between when I opened the tread and actually got around to posting.
jaluhn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2019, 11:43 PM   #20 (permalink)
Registered User
 
IDASHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83932
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 3,299
You can turn the entire TPMS system off via ForScan

Thats what Ive done.
__________________
Kenny B.
IDASHO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2019, 08:05 AM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
Quote:
Originally Posted by IDASHO View Post
You can turn the entire TPMS system off via ForScan

Thats what Ive done.
Details. Need details.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2019, 09:36 AM   #22 (permalink)
Registered User
 
jasonmt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3236
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 5,765
Quote:
Originally Posted by KDXSR5 View Post
Details. Need details.
https://docs.google.com/document/d/1...gF1wxIqxY/edit
__________________
[QUOTE=Roxywheels]The trolls always out themselves :laughing: :roxy:[/QUOTE]
jasonmt is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2019, 09:47 AM   #23 (permalink)
Registered User
 
IDASHO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 83932
Location: North Idaho
Posts: 3,299
Running the high capacity tires I am (4080lbs per tire), I typically run just 40-50PSI in them empty and 50-60PSI loaded.

The idiots @ Ford set the factory TPMS lower limits to something stupid like 70PSI
No way Im running those pressures without a kidney belt

So Ive turned it off, and run a cheap chinese made valve cap TPMS setup.

This one.... works great, and also shows tire temp which is real handy as well for hauling heavy.

Shown in bars and Celsius, but can be switched over to PSI and Fahrenheit.
Recharged by solar, auto-dims when dark, and just sticks to the inside of the windshield.

https://www.amazon.com/AUTOLOVER-Pre...a-845847812604

__________________
Kenny B.
IDASHO is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2019, 01:04 PM   #24 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
So I put the new tires and wheels on and took it to the tire store and they were not able to get them to work. I am very invested in using forscan to disable TPMS. I will look more into this.

Last edited by KDXSR5; 09-14-2019 at 01:05 PM.
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-25-2019, 10:12 PM   #25 (permalink)
Registered User
 
KDXSR5's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Member # 110516
Location: Wyoming
Posts: 1,695
Forscan is the shit. TPMS is now disabled! What a beautiful tool especially for the price (free)! Thanks for the suggestions, I appreciate it
KDXSR5 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.