Mint Linux issue - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Miscellaneous > General Chit-Chat
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 11-15-2019, 06:37 PM   #1 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Mint Linux issue

Picked up a beater Dell laptop at a pawn shop for cheap. Software was inop so in an abundance of thrift decided to make it a Linux machine.

Created a bootable USB stick with Ubuntu Mint, installed it, and followed all the various steps.

So far so good.

There is an icon to make the machine boot from the HDD. It never works - get a 'no boot media' (or somesuch) message when powering up. It will only boot and run if the stick is installed.

Hoping for good advice because each time I go through the 'make it boot from the HDD' process it clears installed programs and settings.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2019, 07:32 PM   #2 (permalink)
Zeus of the Sluice
 
arse_sidewards's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Member # 256962
Location: People's Republic of Taxachusetts
Posts: 3,660
Install OpenBSD on it like a real man.
arse_sidewards is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2019, 07:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by arse_sidewards View Post
Install OpenBSD on it like a real man.
Fuck you. That's not an O/S, that's a career.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2019, 08:37 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Member # 153001
Location: Washington
Posts: 160
you likely need to edit the grub config, or whatever bootloader mint uses nowadays and set the proper boot partition

Last edited by pistol-mcgee; 11-15-2019 at 08:37 PM.
pistol-mcgee is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-15-2019, 10:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 42503
Location: Utah
Posts: 804
I think I had an issue with ubuntu that was similar, I'd go through the install to HD and do everything like normal it would reboot and it wouldn't boot. I ended up doing something like a grub-install /dev/sda or a grub2-mkconfig and then a grub2-set-default 0 to make it bootable.

it's been a few months so my memory of what I did isn't great. it was only on one machine that did it, I've loaded 2 other laptops with the same DVD and it worked great without having to mess with grub.
Spork is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 05:45 AM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Member # 84339
Location: Flyover land
Posts: 16,116
Sounds like you didn't install to the internal hard drive.
__________________
Lugnut4x4.com
And i don't want to give Canadiens any more money, so my sig is broke.
Pt_Ranger_V8 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 06:51 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Realsquash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Member # 2578
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,226
I think you need to get off the lappy and get a tablet. With iOS on it. Then call some Apple genius, which is an oxymoron if you ask me. You're welcome.
Realsquash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 07:45 AM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 29,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by pistol-mcgee View Post
you likely need to edit the grub config, or whatever bootloader mint uses nowadays and set the proper boot partition
this.

here's the easy button, uness you want to do it cli
https://linuxhint.com/linux_mint_boot_repair/
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 07:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by pistol-mcgee View Post
you likely need to edit the grub config, or whatever bootloader mint uses nowadays and set the proper boot partition
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spork View Post
I think I had an issue with ubuntu that was similar, I'd go through the install to HD and do everything like normal it would reboot and it wouldn't boot. I ended up doing something like a grub-install /dev/sda or a grub2-mkconfig and then a grub2-set-default 0 to make it bootable.

it's been a few months so my memory of what I did isn't great. it was only on one machine that did it, I've loaded 2 other laptops with the same DVD and it worked great without having to mess with grub.
Thank you.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pt_Ranger_V8 View Post
Sounds like you didn't install to the internal hard drive.
Pretty sure I did but will check.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realsquash View Post
I think you need to get off the lappy and get a tablet. With iOS on it. Then call some Apple genius, which is an oxymoron if you ask me. You're welcome.
Not ready to turn in my man card, sorry.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
this.

here's the easy button, uness you want to do it cli
https://linuxhint.com/linux_mint_boot_repair/
Thank youse.





EDIT:

With any of these solutions, will my settings and installed software remain the same and unaffected?
__________________
.

Always tip.



.

Last edited by plym49; 11-16-2019 at 07:52 AM.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 08:08 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Realsquash's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Member # 2578
Location: SE WI
Posts: 2,226
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
Created a bootable USB stick with Ubuntu Mint, installed it, and followed all the various steps.
In your quest to be cheap has anyone corrected this part of your query?
Realsquash is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 08:16 AM   #11 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Mopar Moe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2016
Member # 653210
Location: Southern Maine
Posts: 209
Needs more triangulation.
__________________
Causing spontaneous disassembly in various motorsports for over 45 years
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Mopar Moe is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 08:34 AM   #12 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 29,839
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post

With any of these solutions, will my settings and installed software remain the same and unaffected?
it will all remain the same.
you're just fixing the bootloader on the hard drive so you don't need the USB drive for it's boot loader.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Realsquash View Post
In your quest to be cheap has anyone corrected this part of your query?
technically mint is built on ubuntu.
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 09:23 AM   #13 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by Realsquash View Post
In your quest to be cheap has anyone corrected this part of your query?
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post



technically mint is built on ubuntu.
What he said.

Fuck spending money on Windows and Office.

Libre Office, bunch of other freebies, will see how it fares.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 09:53 AM   #14 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 29,839
I've been using mint since it was still just a fork and didn't have it's own shell or anything. switched from ubuntu when they went ubuntu one and it sucked.

it's easy
it works
which are two things I value in my home internet machine.

I fuck with servers and shit at work, ain't nobody got time fo dat at home.
and fuck windows. You know how many times my wife would have fucked a windows machine? lots.

I'm not paying apple's absurd pricing and pay for everything integration either, so here be linux, on "refurbished" laptops I buy for $200 on ebay and use until I break them.
this Hp is currently on like 5 years. Still surfing pirate on it. I mean really. What do you need a home PC to do these days?
surf the internet, and maybe type something to be saved as a PDF and emailed. That's about it.
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 10:02 AM   #15 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
this.

here's the easy button, uness you want to do it cli
https://linuxhint.com/linux_mint_boot_repair/
OK, ran the tool which is very cool for a non-techie like myself as you get to type 'sudo'.

Ran it as recommended and all seemed ok.

But the problem persists. Here is what pops up:

Name:  20191116_115452.jpg
Views: 30
Size:  71.9 KB
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 10:05 AM   #16 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 29,839
have you been into the bios setup yet and looked at your boot device chain?
HDD/SSD/SATA needs to be first.
USB second.
optical drive third.
network last, or disabled if you'll never boot from a network which you never will.

edit:
this makes the assumption that you were actually using the USB device to boot an install on a local disk.
perhaps you've just been running the temp install from the USB drive the whole time?
what did your partition tables look like?
goto "system info" in the mint menu and see what it says for your hard drive size.
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.

Last edited by 87manche; 11-16-2019 at 10:07 AM.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 11:25 AM   #17 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Member # 200478
Location: Port Orchard, WA
Posts: 1,160
Quote:
Originally Posted by plym49 View Post
OK, ran the tool which is very cool for a non-techie like myself as you get to type 'sudo'.

Ran it as recommended and all seemed ok.

But the problem persists. Here is what pops up:

Attachment 2951806
That reflection makes it look like jabba the hut is using your computer.
isbj60 is online now   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 11:57 AM   #18 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by isbj60 View Post
That reflection makes it look like jabba the hut is using your computer.
It sure do, boy.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 12:02 PM   #19 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
have you been into the bios setup yet and looked at your boot device chain?
HDD/SSD/SATA needs to be first.
USB second.
optical drive third.
network last, or disabled if you'll never boot from a network which you never will.

edit:
this makes the assumption that you were actually using the USB device to boot an install on a local disk.
perhaps you've just been running the temp install from the USB drive the whole time?
what did your partition tables look like?
goto "system info" in the mint menu and see what it says for your hard drive size.
Yes, it's gotta be something along those lines. Stick is 8 gig and system is showing 512 gig, but it looks like the internal drive is being taken as a dismountable external drive.

Name:  20191116_135914.jpg
Views: 31
Size:  56.7 KB


In the BIOS boot menu it was UEV or AEF or somesuch; said that does not support boot from internal disk drive. I attempted to change it to the other setting but almost seems locked down. Maybe this machine was set up to boot from a network? Maybe I need to update the BIOS?
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 12:33 PM   #20 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
I've been using mint since it was still just a fork and didn't have it's own shell or anything. switched from ubuntu when they went ubuntu one and it sucked.

it's easy
it works
which are two things I value in my home internet machine.

I fuck with servers and shit at work, ain't nobody got time fo dat at home.
and fuck windows. You know how many times my wife would have fucked a windows machine? lots.

I'm not paying apple's absurd pricing and pay for everything integration either, so here be linux, on "refurbished" laptops I buy for $200 on ebay and use until I break them.
this Hp is currently on like 5 years. Still surfing pirate on it. I mean really. What do you need a home PC to do these days?
surf the internet, and maybe type something to be saved as a PDF and emailed. That's about it.
^ This x1024.

Used Ubunto in the past, tried the new one on this laptop but it sucked big time. Tried Mint and happy with it. (Tried another in between that sounded good but was buggy as shit - do na remember the name.)

I loaded Libre with this and eschewed the marketing-gimmick alternative that is now bundled with Mint.

In addition to surfing, I need to be able to work with Word, Excel and PowerPoint docs. Libre office is 'ok' as it is not completely compatible, with Office but usually good enough.

Do you have a trick to opening a .pst file? Do not want to spend money and need to do it past a 10 day trial.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.

Last edited by plym49; 11-16-2019 at 12:35 PM.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 01:45 PM   #21 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 86724
Posts: 29,839
yeah, that looks like you're running just from the usb stick.

option for the bios is likely UEFI
you want to set that to legacy.
then choose a boot device.

pst is a PITA.
do you just need access to the emails in an archive capacity?
libpst can read the messages and convert them into mbox files and then you can just import them into thunderbird.
__________________
Electricity is really just organized lightning.
87manche is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 11-16-2019, 03:13 PM   #22 (permalink)
Damn kids
 
plym49's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Member # 162771
Posts: 14,305
Quote:
Originally Posted by 87manche View Post
yeah, that looks like you're running just from the usb stick.

option for the bios is likely UEFI
you want to set that to legacy.
then choose a boot device.

pst is a PITA.
do you just need access to the emails in an archive capacity?
libpst can read the messages and convert them into mbox files and then you can just import them into thunderbird.
I have tried doing that and the BIOS menus are not giving me the selections I need to change it, so I suspect some slim shady prior config. If I just have to keep the stick, I will.

I really only want contacts and calendar. Emails would be a bonus.
__________________
.

Always tip.



.
plym49 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:54 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.