newbie full width axle build - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Cherokee
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-13-2017, 07:00 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 735897
newbie full width axle build

hey guy newbie here. Starting a new build. Currently i have a 97 sport with a RC 4.5" and 32s. I just picked up a HP44 and 60 out of a 79 ford. I plan on staying with the coil up front and leaf in rear. curious on what is the best option for the linkage in the front? Ive read a bunch of posts about radius and do not wanna go that way. I seen IronRock offroad has a y link set up that looks to be pretty good. curious if anyone has some input on this? its either the y link or go to a three link. Just looking for a ponint in the right direction. this will be mainly a medium to hard trail rig no rock crawling due to living in the north lol
tgeasland is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-13-2017, 07:02 PM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 735897
The axles have a full spool in rear and front has a spartan locker 4.88 gear. Plan on keeping the stock 4.0. and would like to run 37-39" tires

Last edited by tgeasland; 02-13-2017 at 07:04 PM.
Sponsored Links
Old 02-13-2017, 07:06 PM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 204133
https://www.tntcustoms.com/jeep_part...mj_tnt_customs

Sent from my Z832 using Tapatalk
nickxj94 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 02-14-2017, 06:41 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 131502
The Y link is set up for a dana 30 and would need to be modified for the 44 but it would work. I put one on a 98 Grand and it seems fine.

I would look at a three link setup for the front. The Clayton setup would work just fine.
Frozen ZJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2017, 07:19 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 735897