5.3 Jeeps - Page 159 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-01-2012, 11:17 AM   #3951 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Thanks Wayne I will study over these diagrams I dont know how something that seems to be so simple can become so confusing I have got to figure something out Im at the point of no return now HaHa if anyone else has got any ideas on this Im all open to suggestions I am going to call Novak tuesday and see what they tell me to do based on their instructions I wish AzSahara could tell us how they got his working maybe he will read this and respond
Oh yeah Wayne just want to tell you I like the tune and the way my transmission shifts I really appreciate it !!

Last edited by ALLJ; 09-01-2012 at 11:19 AM.
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-01-2012, 11:22 AM   #3952 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
waynehartwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35700
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 11,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALLJ View Post
Thanks Wayne I will study over these diagrams I dont know how something that seems to be so simple can become so confusing I have got to figure something out Im at the point of no return now HaHa if anyone else has got any ideas on this Im all open to suggestions I am going to call Novak tuesday and see what they tell me to do based on their instructions I wish AzSahara could tell us how they got his working maybe he will read this and respond
Oh yeah Wayne just want to tell you I like the tune and the way my transmission shifts I really appreciate it !!
Awesome and your welcome!
__________________
Hartwig Motorsports 4516, Team Yukon Gear and Axle

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

10% PIRATE COUPON CODE (not valid for harnesses and PCM tuning): pirate4x4

Special thanks to: My Family and Friends, Yukon Gear and Axle, DynoMAX Exhaust, AllTech Motorsports, Radflo Shocks, PAC Racing Springs, JM Rigging Supply, Reid Racing, Rugged Radios, Trail-Gear, Life-Time LED Lights, RuffStuff Specialties, Randy's Racing Transmissions, A1 Performance Converters, Maxxis Tires, Jesse Haines Fab, CBR Performance, PRP Seats, Exhaust Solutions, DiffsOnly.com, and 150Tunes.com
waynehartwig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 09-01-2012, 03:42 PM   #3953 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member # 204506
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE
Posts: 67
Thanks a lot Wayne!
Till end of the week I will know more ... but it looks like the guys at the shop prefer to completely bypass the GM pcm, although according to the 01 camaro diagram it looks doable to use the GM pcm to control (and sense?) the compressor via input from my Jeep dash ...
Who knows ... maybe the shop guys just want to avoid any "confusion" with the different ways possible and have developed their own standard way.
They are doing several swaps a month ... different donors, different 4x4s, some Jeeps (TJs and JKs) and mostly Nissan Patrols
__________________
"The more I know, the more I realize how much I don't know!"
chmo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 09-02-2012, 01:34 PM   #3954 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Member # 174915
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 83
Kevin--you have a PM.
__________________
John
L92/6L80 1998 TJ
AZSahara is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 05:58 PM   #3955 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZSahara View Post
Kevin--you have a PM.
Got it thanks John your jeep is looking good I appreciate it I hope your guy can help me with the wiring diagram for the AC switch
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 06:39 PM   #3956 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Clemsonkrawler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 26940
Location: Grand Junction, CO
Posts: 1,142
Send a message via AIM to Clemsonkrawler
Has anyone tried the 2004 Caddie CTSV oil pan instead of the typical FBody oil pan?

12631828 - CTSV oil pan
12628771 - F Body pan

When looking at diagrams on gmpartsdirect.com it shows the CTSV pan as including the oil pan gasket, baffle, The fitting everyone drill/taps for oil pressure and it's gasket for $115. Where the fBody pan alone is $182. The pic in the diagram kinda sucks so I can't tell how similar it is. Anyone have any insight into this?

EDIT:


Nevermind. Found the info on LS1 tech.
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...-oil-pans.html
__________________
'12 JKU trail cruiser.

Last edited by Clemsonkrawler; 09-02-2012 at 06:54 PM.
Clemsonkrawler is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 06:43 PM   #3957 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,241
Blog Entries: 1
Oil pans!

http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...-oil-pans.html
__________________
'73 IH Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 IH 1210 Travelette SV392 V8, T34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 07:48 PM   #3958 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Member # 223357
Posts: 21
I have a question about the oil pressure sensor. In the diagram it shows to remove the pins for it on the Ecm connector. So after you do that you no longer need the oil pressure sensor? I can connect a mechanical gauge and be good?
pigfat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 08:02 PM   #3959 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member # 165655
Posts: 39
I just got my 1970 Jeepster on the road with a LM7. I wasn't sure whether the abs tone ring in the isuzu rodeo dana 44 I swapped in would generate a vss signal so I gave it a shot and it works. It reports a speed that's about 60% of actual but that's close enough to work for my needs. I am pretty sure that Wayne left my pulse rate at the stock value since I didn't ask for anything different.

Wayne, thanks for the excellent service. Great work on the tune too!

Here's the thread for my swap:
http://jeepstercommandoclub.com/foru...hp?f=9&t=13892
osubeaver is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-02-2012, 10:26 PM   #3960 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,241
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by pigfat View Post
I have a question about the oil pressure sensor. In the diagram it shows to remove the pins for it on the Ecm connector. So after you do that you no longer need the oil pressure sensor? I can connect a mechanical gauge and be good?
You really don't need it unless its a Gen IV motor IMO.
__________________
'73 IH Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 IH 1210 Travelette SV392 V8, T34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2012, 08:14 AM   #3961 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
waynehartwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35700
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 11,785
Quote:
Originally Posted by pigfat View Post
I have a question about the oil pressure sensor. In the diagram it shows to remove the pins for it on the Ecm connector. So after you do that you no longer need the oil pressure sensor? I can connect a mechanical gauge and be good?
This has been discussed at least twice in this thread...

Some require it and some don't. Some require the coolant temp as well.

Run it without, and if you have a lack of power, hook them up.
__________________
Hartwig Motorsports 4516, Team Yukon Gear and Axle

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

10% PIRATE COUPON CODE (not valid for harnesses and PCM tuning): pirate4x4

Special thanks to: My Family and Friends, Yukon Gear and Axle, DynoMAX Exhaust, AllTech Motorsports, Radflo Shocks, PAC Racing Springs, JM Rigging Supply, Reid Racing, Rugged Radios, Trail-Gear, Life-Time LED Lights, RuffStuff Specialties, Randy's Racing Transmissions, A1 Performance Converters, Maxxis Tires, Jesse Haines Fab, CBR Performance, PRP Seats, Exhaust Solutions, DiffsOnly.com, and 150Tunes.com
waynehartwig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2012, 03:10 PM   #3962 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by Clemsonkrawler View Post
Has anyone tried the 2004 Caddie CTSV oil pan instead of the typical FBody oil pan?

12631828 - CTSV oil pan
12628771 - F Body pan

When looking at diagrams on gmpartsdirect.com it shows the CTSV pan as including the oil pan gasket, baffle, The fitting everyone drill/taps for oil pressure and it's gasket for $115. Where the fBody pan alone is $182. The pic in the diagram kinda sucks so I can't tell how similar it is. Anyone have any insight into this?

EDIT:


Nevermind. Found the info on LS1 tech.
http://ls1tech.com/forums/conversion...-oil-pans.html
Got one on mine 6.0 4L80 worked out good does not hang down past the pan on the transmission
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-03-2012, 04:16 PM   #3963 (permalink)
Registered User
 
boarderofsnow's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192442
Location: Pasadena MD
Posts: 948
Anyone have a line on a set of C6 Corvette Exhaust Manifolds? PM me if you do. Want them for my swap but haven't had much luck looking online. Thanks!
__________________
J.P.
President
4 Wheel to Heal

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


[COLOR="Red"][FONT="Impact"][SIZE="5"]CHECK OUT 4 WHEEL TO HEAL[/SIZE][/FONT][/COLOR]

4 Wheel to Heal
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Build Thread
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
boarderofsnow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2012, 11:56 AM   #3964 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Member # 212503
Posts: 2
i haven't read this whole thread so this might already been noted..i have a dodge nv4500 with a np205..it came out of a gas truck..the input shaft is 10 spline course..what will i need to make it work with my 99 5.3?
wranglerkid64 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-06-2012, 12:21 PM   #3965 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Member # 170604
Posts: 116
Putting an NV4500 behind an LS engine has been discussed many times in this thread (ad nauseum actually). Use the "Search this Thread" feature and you'll find all the info you need.
Dublin1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-08-2012, 05:19 PM   #3966 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALLJ View Post
Thanks Wayne I will study over these diagrams I dont know how something that seems to be so simple can become so confusing I have got to figure something out Im at the point of no return now HaHa if anyone else has got any ideas on this Im all open to suggestions I am going to call Novak tuesday and see what they tell me to do based on their instructions I wish AzSahara could tell us how they got his working maybe he will read this and respond
Oh yeah Wayne just want to tell you I like the tune and the way my transmission shifts I really appreciate it !!
Got the AC working I made a call to Novak and finally got to talk with the guy I purchased my conversion stuff from and turns out I was kinda on the right track with the wiring after he explained to me that the wires they had left in my harness for the AC actually went thru the relay in the harness and and did not actually have anything to do with the GM ECM at all. It was so simple to wire and make my electric fan come on when the AC switch is turned on since I still had my jeep relay panel all I did was used the 12V+ compressor feed wire to supply the 12V signal to the relay wire they supplied and I cut the jeep pressure sensor wires out and simply wired the two together on both switches and then I wired the switches back into the system using the pressure sensor wire they supplied in a series to the compressor and grounded it works like a champ air is good and cold the fan comes on with about a 4-5 second delay Thanks guys for all the different opinions maybe this will help someone else that runs into the same problem
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 08:03 AM   #3967 (permalink)
OUTLAW MOTORSPORTS
 
4doorchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member # 69112
Location: MArion, La
Posts: 643
What is the little line that's under the throttle body that coolant comes out of? Where does it need to hook up to? Can I plug it? 2000 6.0 Chevy
__________________
97 tj 6.0 nv4500 241c on tons in the works
4doorchevy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 09:52 AM   #3968 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4doorchevy View Post
What is the little line that's under the throttle body that coolant comes out of? Where does it need to hook up to? Can I plug it? 2000 6.0 Chevy
My radiator had a port for it to put the coolant back into the system it does not need to go thru the throttle body I have seen where some have said that they just plug it off some of the other guys on here can tell you for sure I;m just not certain
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 10:29 AM   #3969 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Member # 204506
Location: Abu Dhabi, UAE
Posts: 67
And some say the correctly connected steamport helps with a good working cooling system.

Sent from my GT-I9300 using Tapatalk 2
__________________
"The more I know, the more I realize how much I don't know!"
chmo is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 10:30 AM   #3970 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48895
Posts: 250
not a great idea to plug it off, the system needs it there or it will build up air and you'll have cooling problems. i drilled and tapped a 1/8 npt port in the water pump. Most guys put a T in the upper rad hose... search for ls steam port and you'll find plenty of examples..
__________________
ZJ buggy kinda thing...
aintlifegrand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 12:25 PM   #3971 (permalink)
OUTLAW MOTORSPORTS
 
4doorchevy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Member # 69112
Location: MArion, La
Posts: 643
Quote:
Originally Posted by aintlifegrand View Post
not a great idea to plug it off, the system needs it there or it will build up air and you'll have cooling problems. i drilled and tapped a 1/8 npt port in the water pump. Most guys put a T in the upper rad hose... search for ls steam port and you'll find plenty of examples..
Where did u drill water pump at? Have any pics?
__________________
97 tj 6.0 nv4500 241c on tons in the works
4doorchevy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-09-2012, 09:36 PM   #3972 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Bo185's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48545
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 5,241
Blog Entries: 1
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4doorchevy View Post
What is the little line that's under the throttle body that coolant comes out of? Where does it need to hook up to? Can I plug it? 2000 6.0 Chevy
The line under the TB is for the TB coolant heater. It is not needed. Just remove the lines no need to even block it off. Then the supply line form the block port that went to the TB needs to be routed to the radiator. If you don't have a bung in it for this then you can drill and tap the top of the water pump. Or easily by a T fitting for the upper rad hose. This installs inline and has bung for the steam line.

Summit sells them in various sizes.
http://www.summitracing.com/parts/SME-2201/
__________________
'73 IH Scout II Vortec 6.0L 4L65e np241
'73 IH 1210 Travelette SV392 V8, T34, 60/14bff 4.56's 35's
'01 VW Beetle TDI-50mpg or better!
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Bo185 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-11-2012, 11:19 AM   #3973 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Member # 48895
Posts: 250
Quote:
Originally Posted by 4doorchevy View Post
Where did u drill water pump at? Have any pics?
I drilled and tapped the boss below the upper hose outlet.. I'll take a picture later and post it up...
__________________
ZJ buggy kinda thing...
aintlifegrand is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-13-2012, 10:30 AM   #3974 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Member # 174915
Location: Northern Arizona
Posts: 83
Quote:
Originally Posted by ALLJ View Post
Got the AC working I made a call to Novak and finally got to talk with the guy I purchased my conversion stuff from and turns out I was kinda on the right track with the wiring after he explained to me that the wires they had left in my harness for the AC actually went thru the relay in the harness and and did not actually have anything to do with the GM ECM at all. It was so simple to wire and make my electric fan come on when the AC switch is turned on since I still had my jeep relay panel all I did was used the 12V+ compressor feed wire to supply the 12V signal to the relay wire they supplied and I cut the jeep pressure sensor wires out and simply wired the two together on both switches and then I wired the switches back into the system using the pressure sensor wire they supplied in a series to the compressor and grounded it works like a champ air is good and cold the fan comes on with about a 4-5 second delay Thanks guys for all the different opinions maybe this will help someone else that runs into the same problem
Hey Kevin--glad to hear you figured this one out. I'm here a few days late but it's more important that you've made it work. I was able to talk with the guy who rewired my AC and he pretty much did what you did. The key is to run the 12+ signal for the compressor to the relay for the compressor. The signal off the HVAC selector (max, air, fresh, heat, defrost) is actually a ground signal and feeds the ground on the relay. Actually pretty simple when you look at the wiring diagram. Normally the ground feeds the jeep ECU, but since that's long gone in my jeep we just connected it to the ground on the compressor relay and it works great!
__________________
John
L92/6L80 1998 TJ

Last edited by AZSahara; 09-13-2012 at 10:31 AM.
AZSahara is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 09-14-2012, 05:27 PM   #3975 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Member # 194021
Posts: 79
Quote:
Originally Posted by AZSahara View Post
Hey Kevin--glad to hear you figured this one out. I'm here a few days late but it's more important that you've made it work. I was able to talk with the guy who rewired my AC and he pretty much did what you did. The key is to run the 12+ signal for the compressor to the relay for the compressor. The signal off the HVAC selector (max, air, fresh, heat, defrost) is actually a ground signal and feeds the ground on the relay. Actually pretty simple when you look at the wiring diagram. Normally the ground feeds the jeep ECU, but since that's long gone in my jeep we just connected it to the ground on the compressor relay and it works great!
Thanks John it ended up being pretty simple after all the head scratching I did LOL after Novak explained the wiring they left me for the AC function I appreciate all the help and opinions from everyone I'm gonna buy me a red star so I can post some pictures of my build its almost done now maybe someone will like looking at them
ALLJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 01:55 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.