5.3 Jeeps - Page 256 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-04-2017, 03:35 PM   #6376 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Member # 685714
Posts: 15
Thanks for the quick replies,

@ACRay was yours an automatic? I cut all the wires going to my automatic's computer off. They are still there just very short for now.
DZ302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2017, 05:06 PM   #6377 (permalink)
Registered User
 
cheapthrillb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108736
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 1,131
I have a Novak tach emulator I'm no longer using if anybody is interested.
cheapthrillb2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 08-04-2017, 05:10 PM   #6378 (permalink)
Registered User
 
cheapthrillb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108736
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 1,131
Is the black and Grey connectors still plugged in at the center of the firewall? The sensor wiring runs through those.

Get a pin out of each ecm connector at verify all grounds/powers.
cheapthrillb2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-04-2017, 05:29 PM   #6379 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Member # 685714
Posts: 15
C103 and C104 are still intact and hooked up. I will verify their grounds.

Last edited by DZ302; 08-04-2017 at 05:37 PM.
DZ302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2017, 06:36 PM   #6380 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member # 572202
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZ302 View Post
Thanks for the quick replies,

@ACRay was yours an automatic? I cut all the wires going to my automatic's computer off. They are still there just very short for now.
Mine was automatic, somewhere in the wires there was a ground, but I can't remember what I needed that for. Might have been the gauges, might have been the fuel pump

Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapthrillb2 View Post
I have a Novak tach emulator I'm no longer using if anybody is interested.
I'm interested, I'll pm you
ACRay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2017, 06:47 PM   #6381 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Member # 770417
Posts: 6
Anyone running a snorkel with a 5.3 here?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
DeadpoolTj97 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-04-2017, 10:20 PM   #6382 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member # 572202
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadpoolTj97 View Post
Anyone running a snorkel with a 5.3 here?

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
Not yet, but it's in the plans. Gonna use a Ford air cleaner piped into the cowl and come out like the hmmwv snorkel style with a cat pre cleaner. I've got the pieces, just need the time

Last edited by ACRay; 08-05-2017 at 11:19 AM.
ACRay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 05:45 AM   #6383 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Member # 770417
Posts: 6
That sounds like a good idea! Right now my filter is open and I just don't like that

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
DeadpoolTj97 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 05:50 PM   #6384 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Member # 744961
Posts: 19
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZ302 View Post
I have my '04 Jeep back on the road with its new 5.3L/4L65e
The problem I am having is NO gauges what so ever. I have the factory Jeep computer and harness still in place and both the oil pressure sender and water temp sender installed in the LM7. I knew I would not have a tach and possibly no oil pressure until the tach was functioning, but I was expecting to have speedo, volts, fuel level and water temp. Is there something I have to do to the Jeep computer to get it to send signals to the gauge cluster?
Have you checked the fuses? I noticed my battery gauge working the first couple of days when I was doing my wiring, then nothing. Once I go it running last Sunday, still nothing. Ended up being a 10A mini fuse at the TJ PDC. I don't recall which fuse number, but it was the 10A right next to the fuel pump relay.
sr1209 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 05:59 PM   #6385 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Member # 685714
Posts: 15
I reinstalled the part of the harness going to my Transmission control module, and the transmission control module itself and my gauges returned. Next I unplugged the transmission control module and I still have gauges, go figure. Odd thing is now engine is starting as soon as the key is in the RUN position. I no longer have to turn the key all the way to start. The starter quits on its own as soon as the engine starts though.
DZ302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 08:55 PM   #6386 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Member # 685714
Posts: 15
Quote:
Originally Posted by DZ302 View Post
I reinstalled the part of the harness going to my Transmission control module, and the transmission control module itself and my gauges returned. Next I unplugged the transmission control module and I still have gauges, go figure. Odd thing is now engine is starting as soon as the key is in the RUN position. I no longer have to turn the key all the way to start. The starter quits on its own as soon as the engine starts though.
UPDATE : Removed the starter relay from the Jeep fuse box and no it no longer starts up in RUN position.
DZ302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 10:27 PM   #6387 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35909
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to Alexia
Why does the Novak Tachometer Emulator cost $194? O_o What am I missing here that makes it so special? I assume all it is doing is retiming the frequency pulses which is less than $20 of hardware.
Alexia is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 10:54 PM   #6388 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
waynehartwig's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35700
Location: Spokane, WA
Posts: 11,780
Quote:
Originally Posted by Alexia View Post
Why does the Novak Tachometer Emulator cost $194? O_o What am I missing here that makes it so special? I assume all it is doing is retiming the frequency pulses which is less than $20 of hardware.
Sounds like we are going to see an Alexia tach emulator hitting the market over the next few days
__________________
Hartwig Motorsports 4516, Team Yukon Gear and Axle

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

10% PIRATE COUPON CODE (not valid for harnesses and PCM tuning): pirate4x4

Special thanks to: My Family and Friends, Yukon Gear and Axle, DynoMAX Exhaust, AllTech Motorsports, Radflo Shocks, PAC Racing Springs, JM Rigging Supply, Reid Racing, Rugged Radios, Trail-Gear, Life-Time LED Lights, RuffStuff Specialties, Randy's Racing Transmissions, A1 Performance Converters, Maxxis Tires, Jesse Haines Fab, CBR Performance, PRP Seats, Exhaust Solutions, DiffsOnly.com, and 150Tunes.com
waynehartwig is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 11:01 PM   #6389 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member # 572202
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehartwig View Post
Sounds like we are going to see an Alexia tach emulator hitting the market over the next few days

That'll be great!! I want/need a dang tach emulator, but $200 goes a long way in other Jeep stuff

like the tune I have GOT to get. Thing will high idle random, shift goofy randomly, die at idle when it's not wild high idling. But besides the overwhelming need to tune it, this stupid thing is pretty fun to drive
ACRay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-05-2017, 11:41 PM   #6390 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35909
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to Alexia
Quote:
Originally Posted by waynehartwig View Post
Sounds like we are going to see an Alexia tach emulator hitting the market over the next few days
Quote:
Originally Posted by ACRay View Post
That'll be great!! I want/need a dang tach emulator, but $200 goes a long way in other Jeep stuff
Well...

It translates messages on GM and Haltech CAN buses to CCD bus.(PCI bus eventually.) I needed this to make the Haltech ECU drive the gauges and TCM in my Comanche.(Everything works, even increments odometer.) I am going to work on PCI bus support to do a LS swap in my LJ eventually.

Alexia is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 09:43 AM   #6391 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2016
Member # 685714
Posts: 15
@Alexia, I bet you could design a GIZMO that could make the Jeep cruise control buttons work with the LS computer?
DZ302 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 11:39 AM   #6392 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Member # 706482
Posts: 16
I would be also interested in a tach modul for LS swap. All my stock Jeep gauges work except the tach and the novak modul is a little bit to pricey
PetZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 01:53 PM   #6393 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Member # 773593
Location: PA
Posts: 9
Tanny Question

Will I be able to mate a 4l60e auto tranny out of a 2000 chevy Sliverado 5.3l 4x4 with my current 1999 5.3l? Will it be a straight bolt up with Torque converter mix up? What do I need to watch for, when picking up this tranny to buy. thx
82CJ8inPA is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 09:38 PM   #6394 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Member # 762010
Location: Lompoc ca
Posts: 16
👍
Scrammbledeggs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 09:45 PM   #6395 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Member # 762010
Location: Lompoc ca
Posts: 16
👍
Scrammbledeggs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-06-2017, 11:19 PM   #6396 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member # 572202
Posts: 63
Well, here's some pics of the progress. Almost done. Wanted to share the shifter pics since that's one thing I had searched for a lot while figuring out what I was gonna do. Mine is a Firebird shifter with a FleaBay 06 TJ shift boot to cover the hole. Still working on the intake, but I'm gonna make a cowl snorkel with this 2002ish F150 filter/housing (looks likes it's about the same as the windstar air box people use for the cowl snorkle) and a Caterpillar pre cleaner






Last edited by ACRay; 08-07-2017 at 10:52 PM.
ACRay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2017, 07:35 AM   #6397 (permalink)
Registered User
 
cheapthrillb2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 108736
Location: Middleville, MI
Posts: 1,131
I don't see pics?
cheapthrillb2 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2017, 10:04 AM   #6398 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Member # 146784
Location: Boise, ID
Posts: 16
Send a message via Yahoo to aemedic
Any opinions on the best shifter for the 4L60E? I am going to be using it more on the street than the trail, so I need and want a standard style rather than a trail oriented shifter.
__________________
Chris
2014 Tacoma Super-Charged, 98/05 Jeep TJ 5.3L swap in process
aemedic is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-07-2017, 11:02 PM   #6399 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Member # 572202
Posts: 63
Quote:
Originally Posted by cheapthrillb2 View Post
I don't see pics?
I think I fixed it, went and made a flickr account photobucket

Quote:
Originally Posted by aemedic View Post
Any opinions on the best shifter for the 4L60E? I am going to be using it more on the street than the trail, so I need and want a standard style rather than a trail oriented shifter.
I spent $15 on that Firebird shifter / cable / T-handle from ye ol junk yard and $13 on the dang boot. Then I spent about 3 hours fabbing it up so the shit didn't make me hit my knuckles putting it in park or rip the console off shifting down to first works good now though, looks good enough and cost less than $30.
ACRay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-08-2017, 04:42 AM   #6400 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Member # 706482
Posts: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by aemedic View Post
Any opinions on the best shifter for the 4L60E? I am going to be using it more on the street than the trail, so I need and want a standard style rather than a trail oriented shifter.
I slightly modified the stock Jeep shifter and it works well
PetZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:25 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.