5.3 Jeeps - Page 273 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Hardcore Tech
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 10-21-2019, 02:11 PM   #6801 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Member # 39729
Location: The Palouse
Posts: 161
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorsports3 View Post
Has anyone managed to get the stock tach to work on a TJ without an emulators, or has anyone built their own emulator? Some guy on Facebook claims to have done it, but I canít get the results to duplicate. Iíd rather not have to use an emulator if possible, and Iíd rather not have to buy one.
I made my stock tachometer work in my '01 TJ and in an '04 TJ 10-11 years ago. I did a lot of searching at the time and as far as I could tell, mine was the first, or at least the first posted online. It still works as it should in both Jeeps. Both Jeeps have 5.3 LM7 engines. I posted all of the information that I had learned in the process on Jeeps Unlimited. All of that stuff is gone now. I also sent it to Novak when they started asking questions a few years later. I'd like to believe that their emulator is directly connected to what I had learned in the process. I contacted Advance Adapters about it as well, but they were not interested.

I did not go the route of designing a circuit to send to the Jeep computer, even though that is within the scope of where I work and what I do. Instead, I went with an all mechanical setup that still uses the Jeep crank and camshaft sensors. It cost less than $100, but there were quite a few hours of machining time for a camshaft sensor trigger and for a trigger ring that goes on the GM balancer. It's not the simplest setup, but it has worked well so far. If I were to do it again, I would just purchase the Novak emulator and be done with it.
deri0953 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 10-21-2019, 06:42 PM   #6802 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2016
Member # 690690
Location: N. AZ
Posts: 101
I have a brand new unopened Novak emulator I'm not going to use that I'll sell.
bkh98 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 10-22-2019, 09:53 AM   #6803 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Member # 332633
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by bkh98 View Post
I have a brand new unopened Novak emulator I'm not going to use that I'll sell.
PM sent
motorsports3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-05-2019, 03:28 PM   #6804 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Member # 762010
Location: Lompoc ca
Posts: 16
california swap

start off by saying I did the 5.3/4l60e swap into a 1981 cj8,put all the emissions parts in cats,o2 sensors,charcoal canister, purge valve,tank pressure sensor,check engine lite,sent the harness and computer to wayne,have driven it about 500 miles now with no cel so far.The jeep had the 151 in it before the swap,now with the v8 its a lot of fun.So now I take it to the referee to get the blessing and he askswhat I did to it before hooking it up to his computer,so I tell him I got the donor parts from a 2005 Tahoe and he stops me rite there and says I couldn't do the swap because the Tahoe is considered a medium duty machine and the scrambler is a light duty machine(wtf).If anybody has any ideas please help I don't want to just give up on this project,to much time and money to just forget it. All ears
Scrammbledeggs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2019, 03:49 PM   #6805 (permalink)
Rock God
 
JayMcJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 111999
Location: West Olive, MI
Posts: 1,616
Tell him it's out of a 2005 Camaro. Problem solved?
JayMcJay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 01:45 PM   #6806 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Member # 762010
Location: Lompoc ca
Posts: 16
So when he hooks up to it with his machine Whats going to tell him it’s from
Scrammbledeggs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 01:51 PM   #6807 (permalink)
Rock God
 
JayMcJay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 111999
Location: West Olive, MI
Posts: 1,616
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrammbledeggs View Post
So when he hooks up to it with his machine Whats going to tell him itís from
I dunno. I'm just thinking that if he failed you based strictly on your story and not data, tell him a different story.
So that you're not lying, I'll tell you it came from a 2005 Camaro.
Hey, it came from a 2005 Camaro.
Now you can say 'I was told it's from a 2005 Camaro'

If it turns out that once he connects up to it he is able to tell you that it's from a Tahoe somehow you'll stand corrected. you can then say 'huh. weird. I was told it was from a 2005 Camaro. I'll have to look into that'.
JayMcJay is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 07:15 PM   #6808 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ultimate fighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 206939
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 33

ultimate fighter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-06-2019, 09:47 PM   #6809 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Member # 762010
Location: Lompoc ca
Posts: 16
If he hooks up to me then I’m locked into Sacramento then they got me,
Scrammbledeggs is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2019, 06:23 AM   #6810 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Member # 197262
Location: Highland MI
Posts: 83
Ask Wayne, he has probably been there before. Must be something in the ECU that id's the donor, maybe that can be part of the flash? BTH mine was from an '07 Tahoe, he did the ecu and harness in 2011. Sure glad I don't live in Kalifornia. I like JayMcJay's approach.
__________________
1984 CJ7, 5.3 GM LMG, glass tub, 33" MTR's, 3" lift, Moser rear axles w/Detroit Locker, 4L60e/D300

Last edited by cj7ole; 12-07-2019 at 06:27 AM.
cj7ole is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2019, 05:49 AM   #6811 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Member # 432985
Location: SECT
Posts: 49
Here is my experience. I asked Wayne about changing the VIN in the GM PCM and he said he can only change it to another compatible GM vin, not the jeep vin. Mine comes up as an 05 silverado i believe. When i took it in for emissions, i told them it was swapped and would pull a GM vin when plugged in. All they did was change the engine size spec for my Jeep vin within the CT emissions system, so it will forever be 5.3 liters. It was a fairly painless experience, just ensure you are otherwise emissions legal for your area. They nearly failed me for a non-op check engine light, but i relocated it to the knee panel. It happens to be fairly obscured by the wiper stalk, which is why they missed it.

Reading back to your post, i am astonished that they are trying to plug the thing in at all. Its pre-obd2, so it should be rolled and sniffed. You would pass with flying colors with all the modern equipment. Maybe find another spot and not tell them? You could get the cj8 with a v8 right? If they really care, tell them its an EFI modified 304/360. No one will be the wiser.
__________________
2002 Jeep Wrangler Sahara 5.3 LS nv3550
AHenry014 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2019, 07:54 AM   #6812 (permalink)
today
 
fredycruger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Member # 225557
Location: MA
Posts: 1,501
Quote:
Originally Posted by ultimate fighter View Post

nice UF you got it done
fredycruger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-09-2019, 08:46 AM   #6813 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Member # 191442
Location: SoCal
Posts: 618
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scrammbledeggs View Post
start off by saying I did the 5.3/4l60e swap into a 1981 cj8,put all the emissions parts in cats,o2 sensors,charcoal canister, purge valve,tank pressure sensor,check engine lite,sent the harness and computer to wayne,have driven it about 500 miles now with no cel so far.The jeep had the 151 in it before the swap,now with the v8 its a lot of fun.So now I take it to the referee to get the blessing and he askswhat I did to it before hooking it up to his computer,so I tell him I got the donor parts from a 2005 Tahoe and he stops me rite there and says I couldn't do the swap because the Tahoe is considered a medium duty machine and the scrambler is a light duty machine(wtf).If anybody has any ideas please help I don't want to just give up on this project,to much time and money to just forget it. All ears
In Commiefornia, the donor engine must be from the same weight class vehicle as the jeep, meaning that in the case of the CJ, you must get the donor engine and all wiring and smog accessories from a light duty vehicle with a gross weight of 6000lbs or lower. The emissions label will say "Light Duty Truck". Not sure what the GVWR is on a Tahoe. You must find a stock, unmodified PCM with a GM VIN from a light duty truck, California emissions certified if your CJ originally was sold with CA emissions. Maybe from a 5.3l Trailblazer or H3 Hummer? The only thing you can modify on the PCM is anti-theft if it had it.

All the rules are on the BAR's website, in the 2019 Smog Check Reference guide, Appendix D, on page 45:
https://smogcheck.ca.gov/pdf/Smog_Ch...ence_Guide.pdf
Marty, SoCal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2019, 09:42 AM   #6814 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Member # 3202
Location: Fort Collins, CO
Posts: 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by motorsports3 View Post
Yeah that’s all what I’ve heard /Thought, but this is what he is saying you have to do:


“TACHOMETER:

And now for the info you came here for. First off, I cannot take full credit for this. Greg Byars was kind enough bounce a few messages back and forth with me with research he did, and in the end, it was a $0 working setup😁

First and foremost, you will need access to tuning software to make adjustments to your Tach Output settings on your GM ECM. What you need to change in you tach output settings (see photos) is the HIgh and Low resolutions. Some ECM's will have a "Pullup" or "No Pullup" Type option in addition to the Resolution. Set the Type (if applies) to "No Pullup", set you High Resolution to "1" and your Low Resolution to "1" (see photos). Flash this back to the ECM.

Next, you will need to locate your Tach Output wire on your GM ECM, it is a solid white wire on pin 10. (99-02 ECM tach wire is on the RED connector while 03-07 is on the GREEN connector. This applies to the 4.8/5.3/6.0 engines)

Then, on the BLACK connector on your Jeep ECM, you want to locate pin 8 (CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR SIGNAL). This is a GRAY wire with a BLACK STRIPE.

Then locate pin 18 (CMP SIGNAL). This is a TAN wire with a YELLOW STRIPE.

This is where things get stupid simple. Simply take Pins 8 and 18 of the Jeep ECM and connect them directly to pin 10 in the GM ECM. Congratulations, you now have a working Tachometer without the need for expensive converters / emulator boxes.

(Drops Mic) 🎤”
Has anyone tried this? Does it really work?
Jeepin4fun is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-21-2019, 08:16 PM   #6815 (permalink)
Registered User
 
ultimate fighter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Member # 206939
Location: Bristol, IN
Posts: 33
Quote:
Originally Posted by fredycruger View Post
nice UF you got it done
just needed to say "no" to rescuing other people from their own shit...

Hopefully buttoning up body harness and interior, axle swaps and 3 link. I need a wheeling trip soon
ultimate fighter is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2020, 02:40 PM   #6816 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Member # 878178
Posts: 11
I'm looking to make a comprehensive guide to doing an LS swap into a TJ. I'm compiling all the videos and threads that have helped me plan my swap. My goal is to list them below and then later make a full doc with links to each video. Are there others out there that you know of that I don't have on my list?

bobwilson84, putting LS into YJ
ucandoit2 - putting LS into CJ
joester1908 - Put LS into TJ
Serama555 - putting LS into TJ
BSKGarage - putting LS into TJ
TheAsapAutomotiveChannel - putting LS into TJ
Dirona - Put 5.2 into TJ
MontanaLowGear - Put 5.9 into TJ
SpeedBump - Put LS into YJ
JustinMelton - Put 5.2 into TJ
zmotosports - Put LS into JK
WorknDirt - Put Hemi in LJ
longhorn84 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-08-2020, 04:54 PM   #6817 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Member # 11427
Location: Moab UT
Posts: 620
TJ Ls Gen3 Gen4 Mounts brand new for sale

Novak MMTJ_G3 GM Generation III & IV V8 Engine Mounts TJ & LJ Wrangler Jeeps Brand New with rear mount. A great deal $150 + $15.00 shipping

Novak's weld-in engine mounts for the Jeep TJ & LJ Wranglers provide immense strength and a precise GM Vortec & LS V8 engine installation. PayPal $165 to [email protected] or text/call 435-210-8366
larrylong is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-11-2020, 12:17 PM   #6818 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35909
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to Alexia
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhorn84 View Post
I'm looking to make a comprehensive guide to doing an LS swap into a TJ. I'm compiling all the videos and threads that have helped me plan my swap. My goal is to list them below and then later make a full doc with links to each video. Are there others out there that you know of that I don't have on my list?

bobwilson84, putting LS into YJ
ucandoit2 - putting LS into CJ
joester1908 - Put LS into TJ
Serama555 - putting LS into TJ
BSKGarage - putting LS into TJ
TheAsapAutomotiveChannel - putting LS into TJ
Dirona - Put 5.2 into TJ
MontanaLowGear - Put 5.9 into TJ
SpeedBump - Put LS into YJ
JustinMelton - Put 5.2 into TJ
zmotosports - Put LS into JK
WorknDirt - Put Hemi in LJ
Alexia - Put L99/6L80E into LJ - https://comancheclub.com/topic/56419...6l80-in-my-lj/
Alexia is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-12-2020, 11:11 AM   #6819 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2020
Member # 878178
Posts: 11
Good one, that's a gen 4 and you have a legit garage and some intense fabbing skills! Hows it holding up? Did you change the rear end?
longhorn84 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-13-2020, 11:02 AM   #6820 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 35909
Location: Huntsville, AL
Posts: 210
Send a message via AIM to Alexia
Quote:
Originally Posted by longhorn84 View Post
Good one, that's a gen 4 and you have a legit garage and some intense fabbing skills! Hows it holding up? Did you change the rear end?
I am actually leaving that shop behind! I just moved.

I have done 5,000 miles without trouble or a break down.(Other than running out of gas.) I kept the rear D44 with ARB locker and put in upgraded axle shafts. It has held up to me launching it on the street. The transfer case internals were upgraded as well.

I am working on the GMLAN CAN to Chrysler PCI code right now to keep my stock instrument cluster. https://twitter.com/Azxiana/status/1...893448/photo/1
Alexia is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2020, 12:30 AM   #6821 (permalink)
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2019
Member # 864470
Posts: 7
Fuel system LS conversion. I looked around and I saw what was available for my jeep and LS conversion and none I was that happy with. I have a company that makes a lot of parts and I decided to contact my suppliers and see if i could sort something out. I asked them to make a replacement regulator as on top of the tj fuel tank that is 4bar not 3.5 bar (56 psi not 49 psi for you backward people haha) anyway they came back with yes we can do some but you must buy 100 so Im ordering them now. This is simple as dropping your tank pulling out the old reg and pushing the new one on. I have listed them on my site and when they are gone its all over. The Price is $80 and that includes world wide shipping.
https://www.waxracingproducts.com/pr...fuel-regulator
waxy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-18-2020, 08:28 PM   #6822 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Member # 332633
Posts: 59
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepin4fun View Post
Has anyone tried this? Does it really work?
It didnt work for me. My GM ecu does not allow to turn the pullup off, some of the later models do. Thats the only difference between mine and that guys, but no one else seems to have confirmed it works either
motorsports3 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 02:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2020 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.