Rubi Axles Locker Wiring - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Non Hardcore
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-16-2008, 12:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 97986
Posts: 192
Rubi Axles Locker Wiring

for anyone who has done a rubi swap into a tj,,, how did u hook up the lockers? need to know from the switches to the pumps and what are the two wires coming out of the axle? these are air lockers
S@NDM@N is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2008, 02:44 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Member # 101635
Location: AB, Canada
Posts: 259
You can run the lockers straight through a switch, all you need are the black and red wires coming out of the pump. Don't even need a relay if you don't want to use one (I tend to use them on everything, but I think you can get away without one). The locker pumps themselves have an internal shut off that turns the pump off when the line reaches 6psi.

The 2 wires coming out of the axle are for the indicator light to tell the computer that the axle is locked. If you want you can wire up a LED to them to serve the same purpose.
Giviner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 04-16-2008, 03:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43184
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,248
I put them into a YJ, and did this conversion on a Rubi as well.

Manual air switches, regulate to 6-10psi, all run off existing OBA system.

Eliminates the stock junk pumps, all electrical connections.

IMHO, I wouldnt even waste my time wiring them up electrically were it mine to do.
bnine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-16-2008, 03:21 PM   #4 (permalink)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Member # 97986
Posts: 192
the two wires on the axle, is one pos and one neg. wondering so i can hook up leds to let me know when there locked. is there something inside to activate the led so i know for sure when the locker is locked
S@NDM@N is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2008, 03:48 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Member # 109418
Location: New Castle, Co
Posts: 53
I am in the middle of the same project [email protected]

I am fairly sure the 2 wires coming off the axle are a dry contact to indicate that the axle is locked. You could connect one wire to ground and the other wire to the ground side of a light for example. I did notice that there is a cutout in the instrument cluster for the locker indicators but I havent taken it apart yet to see what is actually in there. I am getting to this part of the project this weekend though so I can't say for sure. I will do some tests this weekend to make sure and can post my results if you need.
Milquetoast is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2008, 04:03 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Member # 43184
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,248
Quote:
Originally Posted by [email protected]@N View Post
the two wires on the axle, is one pos and one neg. wondering so i can hook up leds to let me know when there locked. is there something inside to activate the led so i know for sure when the locker is locked

Again, if you go manual, when the switch is up, the lockers on. Its that simple.

If you need a dummy light to tell you when your locker is on, somethings not right.
bnine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2008, 11:10 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 36715
Location: Cumming, GA
Posts: 519
I used a lighted rocker switch (led in switch button). Ignore the diff wires.
__________________
97 TJ Buggy
00 TJ
2002 Ford F250 7.3PSD CC SB
KVOM is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-17-2008, 03:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Registered User
 
MO_4RUNNER's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Member # 26636
Location: Springfield MO
Posts: 540
Send a message via Yahoo to MO_4RUNNER
I'm running rubi compressor to a switch using same black and red like everyone is saying. The compressor is self regulating so works out great.
MO_4RUNNER is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 11:39 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.