700r4 to Jeep 4.0 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Non Hardcore
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 07-15-2011, 12:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27285
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 52
700r4 to Jeep 4.0

Has anybody done this swap, I see AA and Novak have an adapter for this. I would sure like to have a 700r4 rather than the 32rh 3 spd.
gary pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-15-2011, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 37769
Location: The Land of Opportunity
Posts: 3,443
Blog Entries: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary pierce View Post
Has anybody done this swap, I see AA and Novak have an adapter for this. I would sure like to have a 700r4 rather than the 32rh 3 spd.
Hey, Gary....Did you give "come get ya some" a call?
__________________
Willing to learn, try, fail, learn more, and try again.
cisco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 07-16-2011, 07:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Member # 191442
Location: SoCal
Posts: 543
Depending on your driveline length, a stock Jeep AW-4 or 42RE would be a viable alternative to add an overdrive. In my experience, Adapted chevy transmissions sometimes have issues with the spacers for the torque converter loosening up, flexplates cracking and starter alignment/noise issues. It's also hard to get the converter's dust cover to seal properly.
Marty, SoCal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 07-16-2011, 10:24 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27285
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by cisco View Post
Hey, Gary....Did you give "come get ya some" a call?
Yes, they said they have not done this swap. I really would like the od, but might have to settle for the 32rh, and I think there are no drive shaft mods.
gary pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 10:26 AM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27285
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 52
Quote:
Originally Posted by Marty, SoCal View Post
Depending on your driveline length, a stock Jeep AW-4 or 42RE would be a viable alternative to add an overdrive. In my experience, Adapted chevy transmissions sometimes have issues with the spacers for the torque converter loosening up, flexplates cracking and starter alignment/noise issues. It's also hard to get the converter's dust cover to seal properly.
Thanks, Marty
gary pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 01:45 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Member # 87845
Location: Marietta, GA
Posts: 2,013
Ive got a buddy who's been workin on this for a long ass time... mostly due to getting a new girlfriend in the meantime... he finally found the flex plate he needed on rock-auto after searching forever and a day.... but hes not made it far enough to tell you if is or aint gonna work! I'll shoot him a FB link to this thread for his feedback.
y2knole is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 08:42 PM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Member # 37769
Location: The Land of Opportunity
Posts: 3,443
Blog Entries: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary pierce View Post
Yes, they said they have not done this swap. I really would like the od, but might have to settle for the 32rh, and I think there are no drive shaft mods.
Thats incredible! I was in there just over a year ago and they told me they had mated a 700r4 to a 4.0. W/O adapters. Said it was tricking but could be done.


Or maybe at 40 yrs old I am showing the first signs of senility!
__________________
Willing to learn, try, fail, learn more, and try again.
cisco is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-16-2011, 09:51 PM   #8 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4375
Location: Quail Valley
Posts: 8,677
Quote:
Originally Posted by gary pierce View Post
Yes, they said they have not done this swap. I really would like the od, but might have to settle for the 32rh, and I think there are no drive shaft mods.
I don't know what year you're working on, but forget the 42RLE suggestion, that stupid thing has a TCU with more wires going into it than the ECM on a TJ does.

I just finished up a flat belly AW-4 swap into a TJ that originally had the 32RH. During the test drive, I was so happy with the way it performed and worked that before I had gone two blocks I was trying to find out how to acquire one for my wife's 01 TJ with a 32RH.

I will have a complete 32RH for sale before long if you can't convince yourself to do the AW-4.
__________________
Stupidity abhors a vacuum
mrblaine is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2011, 05:43 AM   #9 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Member # 27285
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 52
mrblaine
I've got a 98 TJ, RE 5.5 long arm, 1" BL, 4.0, so I guess if I want the OD I need to check out the AW4 swap. Did you have to modify both drive shafts, and was the wiring that bad?
gary pierce is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-17-2011, 06:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2011
Member # 191442
Location: SoCal
Posts: 543
Here's a good write up on swapping in a AW-4 to a TJ:

http://www.stu-offroad.com/engine/aw-4/aw-4-1.htm

The AW-4 swap will require driveline length mods, it's quite a bit longer than the 32RH. It's close in length to the AX-15 and NV3550.
Marty, SoCal is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 07-19-2011, 08:54 PM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 143020
Location: Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 248
I am in the middle of figuring out if I am replacing my busted AX-15 or going to a AW4.. Thoughts? Blaine- What did you love so much about it beside that 4th magic gear?
xplodn is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 07:50 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.