Quick Questions for Quick Answers - Page 4 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Jeep - Willys
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 01-21-2014, 09:20 AM   #76 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 231011
Posts: 1,835
Sounds good thanks
h8sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2014, 02:52 PM   #77 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Member # 404010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 24
What kind of heaters are you guys running. It doesn't get that cold down here, but it would be nice sometimes.
psycho0280 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 01-24-2014, 03:10 PM   #78 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5326
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 11,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho0280 View Post
What kind of heaters are you guys running. It doesn't get that cold down here, but it would be nice sometimes.
A warm hat and a jacket. Maybe some gloves if it gets really cold.

With the windshield up it really isn't that bad. I've driven it when it was 15F and sunny. I survived and boy was I awake when I got to work!
__________________
42 MB, 225, T18, big kid go cart with clown tires
92 Dodge W250 daily driver on 39s
Mieser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 01-24-2014, 03:20 PM   #79 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Member # 404010
Location: South Louisiana
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mieser View Post
A warm hat and a jacket. Maybe some gloves if it gets really cold.

With the windshield up it really isn't that bad. I've driven it when it was 15F and sunny. I survived and boy was I awake when I got to work!
Quote:
A warm hat and a jacket. Maybe some gloves if it gets really cold.

I hear ya on that one, its about what I used to before i tore her apart.
psycho0280 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-24-2014, 03:22 PM   #80 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 229476
Location: Gilroy
Posts: 3,992
Quote:
Originally Posted by psycho0280 View Post
What kind of heaters are you guys running. It doesn't get that cold down here, but it would be nice sometimes.
no heater on mine, but then again here in Socal we don't need them really. My mom in Louisiana said they got a little bit of snow last night, haha! That doesn't happen often!
danielbuck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-25-2014, 06:46 AM   #81 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144281
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,554
Its been -20 here a few times last week.

I don't have one yet, but alot of people rave about them

Mohave Heater. Cheapest I'v found is through Speedway Motors or Summit.

Should also help cool the engine by adding more coolant to the system
wesfab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2014, 04:15 PM   #82 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 231011
Posts: 1,835
I have a gm 12 bolt rear. With a spool now. A guy here has a rebuilt Detroit for 400. Is this something I should get and install before the con trip? I have never drove on the streets with a Detroit. I have had an old hotrod truck that had a spool in it and drove that on the street all the time. I don't what to get distracted with something if it's not a away better option before this trip. What say you guys?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
h8sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2014, 05:20 PM   #83 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5326
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 11,053
If you already have the spool in place and its ready to go I would just keep it.
__________________
42 MB, 225, T18, big kid go cart with clown tires
92 Dodge W250 daily driver on 39s
Mieser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 01-28-2014, 05:29 PM   #84 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 231011
Posts: 1,835
I do. An that money needs to be spent on actual needed parts ( gas tank) Thanks.


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
h8sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2014, 07:05 PM   #85 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144281
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,554
2004 vortec 4.3L can i just remove and plug the Vapor canister purge solenoid? I got my PCM and harness back today and apparently my wiring guy feels I don't need it, because he eliminated the plug. And I'm am not running a return line to the tank.
.
wesfab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-05-2014, 10:23 PM   #86 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144281
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,554
OK disregard that last question.
Heres another
same engine: Where can I pick up vacuum for my TH350 modulator?
wesfab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 10:07 AM   #87 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144281
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,554
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesfab View Post
say someone wanted to eliminate the factory A/C from a Gen III engine. Is it just remove the a/c pump and get the "without A/C" belt? or is there an idler pulley involved somewhere?
Ok, so I ordered the "without A/C belt" and "without A/C idler pulley" This doesn't work. I have a "A/C delete" on order, the plan is that this takes place of the compressor and you still use the "with A/C" belt.

This "minor" facelift is kicking my ass...
wesfab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 10:12 AM   #88 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5326
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 11,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by wesfab View Post
Ok, so I ordered the "without A/C belt" and "without A/C idler pulley" This doesn't work. I have a "A/C delete" on order, the plan is that this takes place of the compressor and you still use the "with A/C" belt.

This "minor" facelift is kicking my ass...
They always do.....
__________________
42 MB, 225, T18, big kid go cart with clown tires
92 Dodge W250 daily driver on 39s
Mieser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 12:20 PM   #89 (permalink)
Rock God
 
46WILYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141981
Location: In Gold Country
Posts: 2,060
Send a message via ICQ to 46WILYZ
I am needing to buy some toggle switches for my dash, should I get waterproof sealed toogle switches or just run the regular toogles? They also sell the toogle boot covers.
__________________
KK6MWD "46WILYZ previously known as 1946cj2"
pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=968398
46WILYZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 01:10 PM   #90 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5326
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 11,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1946CJ2 View Post
I am needing to buy some toggle switches for my dash, should I get waterproof sealed toogle switches or just run the regular toogles? They also sell the toogle boot covers.
Mysuggestion is to get switches with real screw terminals, not slip on terminals. The little boot covers wear out pretty quick in the sun from my experience. I would get internally sealed switches if you where going to go that way.
__________________
42 MB, 225, T18, big kid go cart with clown tires
92 Dodge W250 daily driver on 39s
Mieser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 09:08 PM   #91 (permalink)
Rock God
 
46WILYZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Member # 141981
Location: In Gold Country
Posts: 2,060
Send a message via ICQ to 46WILYZ
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mieser View Post
I would get internally sealed switches if you where going to go that way.
Do you think it is worth it to go with sealed switches or just regular toggle switches? They are going to be protected by the dash and some type of bikini top.
__________________
KK6MWD "46WILYZ previously known as 1946cj2"
pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=968398
46WILYZ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-10-2014, 09:31 PM   #92 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 538
Posts: 1,926
I just got some Eaton sealed vehicle rocker switches from Newark for a different project. SVR sealed rocker switch meets IP68 sealed switch standard Don't have them installed yet, but seem very nice.
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 08:05 PM   #93 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 229476
Location: Gilroy
Posts: 3,992
So, I'm still in the baby steps of learning to TIG weld, I'm getting the itch to actually weld something of use, instead of just laying beads on plate. (although I've been so busy at work, I've not had much time to even do a whole lot of beads period!) Thinking maybe exhaust pipes would be an easy thing to do, all butt welds accept for the flanges, and I can easilly take it over inside the garage and sit down to take my time with it.


I've been mulling around the idea of making a larger exhaust for my Turbo Diesel Willys. Right now, the entire exhaust is 1.75" in diameter, including the down pipe. (2.2L motor) There is room for a much larger diameter exhaust. Would it be useless to put say, a 3" exhaust on here? I keep reading that larger exhaust is better for turbos, but this is usually in regards to much larger displacement motors. Would I get any power (or turbo whistle sound!?) out of larger pipes?

Last edited by danielbuck; 02-14-2014 at 08:07 PM.
danielbuck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-14-2014, 08:17 PM   #94 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 538
Posts: 1,926
How To Calculate Muffler Size and Exhaust Pipe Diameter | Exhaust Videos On turbocharged diesel engines, the benefit of larger diameter is reduced exhaust gas temp. Going from 1-3/4" to 2" on your engine might be something that could give you a measurable benefit - paying attention and documenting everything carefully. I doubt that you could measure much difference from 2" on up. Definitely will change the sound. I'm running 4" open on my 6.0 Ford diesel (with a VGT) and love it.

Last edited by Lloyd; 02-14-2014 at 08:18 PM.
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 10:28 AM   #95 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 229476
Location: Gilroy
Posts: 3,992
How does the sound change with larger diameter pipe? In a good way?

Lower EGT is good, I could give it more fuel

Last edited by danielbuck; 02-15-2014 at 10:30 AM.
danielbuck is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 12:07 PM   #96 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Member # 538
Posts: 1,926
Kind of hard to describe, I've heard trucks like mine with the same exhaust except 5" and it's just a different tone. A bit deeper...
Lloyd is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 05:43 PM   #97 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144281
Location: Upstate NY
Posts: 1,554
how far from my exhaust manifold should my o2 sensors be?
wesfab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-15-2014, 06:39 PM   #98 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Member # 98895
Location: Pinedale, WY
Posts: 2,392
Send a message via AIM to dezrik Send a message via MSN to dezrik Send a message via Yahoo to dezrik
On most motors it seems like they are right after the collector where all the exhaust joins together
dezrik is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 11:51 AM   #99 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Member # 231011
Posts: 1,835
Anyone use residual pressure valves in their brake systems?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
h8sprint is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-22-2014, 01:27 PM   #100 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Member # 5326
Location: Southwest Colorado
Posts: 11,053
Quote:
Originally Posted by h8sprint View Post
Anyone use residual pressure valves in their brake systems?


Sent from AutoGuide.com App
I put a 2psi one in my rear disc circuit. Seems to work ok. I should have probably stuck one in the front too.
__________________
42 MB, 225, T18, big kid go cart with clown tires
92 Dodge W250 daily driver on 39s
Mieser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 03:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.