First Chevy build - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Newbie General 4x4 Discussion
Register Blogs FAQ Community Calendar Premium Memberships
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-07-2018, 10:14 AM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 859628
First Chevy build

Hey guys, Im starting a build thread. I have converted from Ford (Sold '83 and '88 f150's both with 300 L6 engines) to Chevy. My first time owning a Chevy or a V8. I have a 1978 Scottsdale, 3/4 ton regular cab, long bed with 4 on the floor and a 350 topped by a 4 barrel. It's only two wheel drive, but Im new to offroading and It's what I have. So I'll see how far I can go/learn, before spending more on a 4x4 squarebody. I bought it about a year ago, but I've been house sitting, so its been left untouched for 8 months. The work it needed has only gotten worse. Im working on a list of what it needs, and what I want. More posts to follow. If this post is in the wrong place, feel free to move or delete and tell me where to go.
Beareded Rabbit is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-07-2018, 10:22 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 143737
Depending on where you are and whats around for offroading, don't spend a dime on "building" the 2wd for offroading, lower in for cheap and sell it in the spring for someone looking to cruise.

Or break out the torches and chop the 2wd shit out of the front and put an axle up there, but you're miles ahead starting with a 4x4
Old 12-07-2018, 10:54 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 859628
Im in Southern AZ, and not doing anything serious, Im not wheeling for the sake of wheeling, Trying to get to spots to shoot/camp/hike/crawl in caves. Every one has always told me that converting a two wheel drive to 4x4 was to much effort.

Old 12-07-2018, 01:17 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 859628