Minimum vehicle requirements - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Land Use and Trails > Rubicon Trail
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 03-16-2019, 02:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Rock God

Member # 36385
Minimum vehicle requirements

What would be the minimum vehicle requirements in order to have a good time on the Con? My TJ wouldn't be too well suited for the entire family and camping, so am of building something more mild for the family to enjoy a place like this, or Moab. Wondering is something like an XJ/ZJ/4 runner (obviously SAS if needed) locked on 35-37's or so could have a good time on the Con?
Big4x4Rides is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2019, 03:07 PM   #2 (permalink)
blatant asshole

Member # 464641
Welded diff
Solid winch
Pull points
Straps

& significant amount of ngaf about rockers/corners
total newb is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 03-16-2019, 03:13 PM   #3 (permalink)
Get Off My Lawn

Member # 77386
Quote:
Originally Posted by total newb View Post

This is your best bet.
Action Fab is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message

Old 03-16-2019, 07:26 PM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 188882
Locked, 37's and low gearing gets you thru with relative ease
arickvan is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-16-2019, 09:15 PM   #5 (permalink)

Member # 841585
Rubicon gets a lot of hype but its a fairly easy trail with bypasses for the harder lines. A rear locker ,33s, and a half skilled driver can get you through without much of a hiccup. However if you want to try the harder lines such as soup bowl lockers,sliders,35s, and gearing helps. But you dont need a rock slayer to run the trail. I see stock jeeps and bigger tired tacomas up there all the time doing just fine. I would just go with what total newb said.