Rotary Phase Converter- Potential relay - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 08-12-2018, 05:22 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 67907
Location: Co
Posts: 4,318
Rotary Phase Converter- Potential relay

I am building a 15hp phase converter. I used a 5hp potential relay thinking it would be fine for getting an unloaded idler motor up and running, but

I cant seem to find a larger potential relay. Wondering if I can hook 2 in parallel to handle the load, or if this would cause other issues.
__________________
The Beepster

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jeepermat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-13-2018, 05:51 AM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Member # 111998
Location: Richardson, TX
Posts: 291
I don’t see any reason why it wouldn’t work.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Tyler76010 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 08-13-2018, 10:25 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,584
just wire it up with another contactor with all the contacts bridged on the start button so it brings the start cap out when you let go of the button.

my start button has only one set of contacts, so I had it switch the start cap contactor directly, three of four contacts bridged, then the fourth contact wired where the start button used to be.

Push in, let go half a second later, can't be simpler.
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 08-14-2018, 05:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 67907
Location: Co
Posts: 4,318
Quote:
Originally Posted by [486] View Post
just wire it up with another contactor with all the contacts bridged on the start button so it brings the start cap out when you let go of the button.

my start button has only one set of contacts, so I had it switch the start cap contactor directly, three of four contacts bridged, then the fourth contact wired where the start button used to be.

Push in, let go half a second later, can't be simpler.
Id prefer to have the potential relay vs a start button. We lose power here pretty frequently, I would rather have an auto start system vs a manual start.
__________________
The Beepster

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Jeepermat is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-15-2018, 03:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Pirate4x4 Addict!
 
Grumpy356's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Member # 151139
Location: Brazoria County Texas
Posts: 8,682
No relay is going to handle the start load of a 15HP motor (loaded or not). If you want a relay it will need to be an interposing relay to make and break the holding coil of the contractor.
__________________
Mass quantities of anxiety, internal conflict and discontent, all balled up in one short, tattooed body.
Grumpy356 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 08-17-2018, 05:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Member # 192237
Location: St. Paul, MN
Posts: 11,584
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeepermat View Post
Id prefer to have the potential relay vs a start button. We lose power here pretty frequently, I would rather have an auto start system vs a manual start.
I don't leave mine run, I haven't checked for certain yet but I'm sure the power factor is so horrible as to be laughable, even at idle.

Even if you have something like a compressor, with a couple delay relays you can set it up so the converter kicks on with the pressure switch, then a few seconds later the compressor contactor starts up the motor, then it all shuts down when the pressure switch reaches it's set pressure.
[486] is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 04:28 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.