Convert a air conditioner 220 volt plug to NEMA Type 6-50P ?? - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Shop and Tools
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 12-03-2005, 08:56 PM   #1 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BajaBilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13128
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,868
Convert a air conditioner 220 volt plug to NEMA Type 6-50P ??

Trying to make a 220v outlet in my garage to run a 220v welder

There is 2 seperate 220v hookups coming off the panel.
One to the water pump, and another going to a wall outlet with the style plug of the pic attached.
I want to switch the air conditioner style plug to a 6-50P.
The air con style plug is run with 2- 20 amp breakers.
The air con plug reads 250v and 15 amp.

Also, there are 2 black wires and one white wire connected to the air con style plug.

Will the 2 20 amp breakers be enough for the welder?

And on hooking it up, I guess one of the blacks will be the ground?

I'm use to seeing a red wire.

Thanks
Attached Images
 
__________________
[QUOTE=born loser]'crawlin's sooooo Y2K.:laughing:
thats why its always fun wheelin w/ bill. theres no spottin or pickin lines.
Belt-in, put a brick on the gaspedal, and FTW.:flipoff2:
[/QUOTE]


[SIZE="5"][FONT="Arial Black"]WWBBD?[/FONT][/SIZE]
Anger is a gift
BajaBilly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-03-2005, 09:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Member # 10115
Location: Denver & Da Big Island
Posts: 251
check how many amps your welder will draw. I suspect the dual 20A feeds you have now will only result in 20A per hot line feeding the outlet. I don't believe you can add them together and come up with 40A. Someone please correct me if I'm in error.

Another question I'd ask is what gauge wire is presently being used? It's been awhile since I ran my four 220 circuits in the garage, but as I recall, I used 10-3 from the breakers to the outlets. I used 30A breakers on all the 220 circuits.

Last edited by 69CJ; 12-03-2005 at 09:51 PM.
69CJ is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 12-04-2005, 08:07 AM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BajaBilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13128
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,868
Thanks

I am not positive on what gauge is being used running from the panel to the outlet, but will find out,
__________________
[QUOTE=born loser]'crawlin's sooooo Y2K.:laughing:
thats why its always fun wheelin w/ bill. theres no spottin or pickin lines.
Belt-in, put a brick on the gaspedal, and FTW.:flipoff2:
[/QUOTE]


[SIZE="5"][FONT="Arial Black"]WWBBD?[/FONT][/SIZE]
Anger is a gift
BajaBilly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 12-04-2005, 10:39 AM   #4 (permalink)
Registered User
 
PAToyota's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Member # 37600
Location: South Central Pennsylvania
Posts: 14,577
Send a message via AIM to PAToyota Send a message via Skype™ to PAToyota
The dual 20amp breakers give you 20amp at each hot - not 40amp. Definitely check the wire gauge. I would really doubt that it is heavy enough if it is only for a 20amp circuit.
__________________
94 GMC 6.5TD K1500 Yukon SLE / 93 Chevy 6.5TD K2500
85 Toyota 22R RN60 4x4
PAToyota is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2005, 12:56 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Member # 2463
Location: Phoenix,az
Posts: 3,383
Either find the amperage on the welder or read the manual for how much power it needs. A 20 amp 220 circuit isn't gonna cut it, and using that style plug is just stupid. You are going to probably end up running a new circuit with some #8 or #6 wire and going to a range style plug if you want to do it reasonably.
pmurf1 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-04-2005, 04:32 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
BajaBilly's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Member # 13128
Location: Denver
Posts: 1,868
Thanks for the help everyone.

I have been confirmed that the exsiting breakers and wire is not going to cut it.
Instead of rewiring through the rafters and down the wall, it looks like I will just run a outlet off of the breaker with some 10/3, and once I am told I can up the amps on the breakers, this will be done.


Smurf, I appreciate the help, but I never said I was going to use the air con style plug
My question was how to get rid of the air con style plug and replace it with the 6-50P style.
__________________
[QUOTE=born loser]'crawlin's sooooo Y2K.:laughing:
thats why its always fun wheelin w/ bill. theres no spottin or pickin lines.
Belt-in, put a brick on the gaspedal, and FTW.:flipoff2:
[/QUOTE]


[SIZE="5"][FONT="Arial Black"]WWBBD?[/FONT][/SIZE]
Anger is a gift
BajaBilly is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 12-05-2005, 12:06 AM   #7 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Member # 4243
Location: Westcoast Canuck... eh?
Posts: 5,374
Quote:
Originally Posted by pmurf1
Either find the amperage on the welder or read the manual for how much power it needs. A 20 amp 220 circuit isn't gonna cut it
You'd be surprised... you can max out the duty-cyle with an average 160-175A machine and still not pop that breaker. I have to push my 200A machine pretty hard to make it trip (its actually my compressor circuit, that I steal for the welder when it's more handy).
__________________
Dodge cobbler... (1stgen cummins theme)
u2slow is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.