Transmission Temp - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > General Tech > Tow Rigs and Trailers
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 05-13-2019, 03:44 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 189302
Transmission Temp

I’m new to towing, so this is a weak topic, but I’ve been searching and finding tons of different information.

I’m towing about 3,000lbs. with a 5.3l Tahoe. Transmission temperature this past weekend reached 217, when I was crawling along mountain roads in WV. The typical temperature heading down was about 170-190 changing with terrain.

On the way home it pretty much maintained 163 degrees.

My main concern is, is there a temp that is dangerously low for a DD? I want to install a trans cooler to help with slower towing up those mountains, but am finding all types of stuff online for low temps for transmissions.

We’re towing out to SD this summer and I’m dreading Chicago. I know it’s going to tax that transmission if I don’t add a cooler.

If it matters, this is the 6 speed, with 120,000 on the clock.

Thanks.
FleshEater is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 05-14-2019, 06:45 AM   #2 (permalink)

Member # 312354
Anything within 100 degrees of outside air temp is considered normal. I don't usually like to see them run under 100F or over 220F with my personal average between 120-180F.
ironmangq is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 05-14-2019, 06:48 AM   #3 (permalink)

Member # 85771
A factory gauge? New enough to be digital?

Old 05-14-2019, 07:16 AM   #4 (permalink)

Member # 174963