Project f-runner - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Formula Toy Forum
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-27-2011, 03:47 PM   #1 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Project f-runner

Here it goes. This is how it looks now



Im going to be changing the rear section of the chassis a bit. I want to be able to accomidate four adults as comfortabley as possible. I wont be competing really so it should be fine. I plan on just using whats on my truck to build her.
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 03:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Member # 144002
Location: Erie, PA
Posts: 373
Send a message via AIM to Irongrave
who's cage are you using of is it a one off?
Irongrave is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 02-27-2011, 04:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Member # 79815
Location: Lemoore, Ca
Posts: 174
It kind of looks like the chassis is sitting really high above the frame. Or is it just the angle of the picture?
__________________
F-toy #075
AMSOIL
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
minam44 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 02-27-2011, 04:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Irongrave View Post
who's cage are you using of is it a one off?
I dont meen to be rude but... you know what forum your in dont you.
Its an F-TOY made by Hendrix motorsports.

Quote:
Originally Posted by minam44 View Post
It kind of looks like the chassis is sitting really high above the frame. Or is it just the angle of the picture?
I only saw it in person twice now but I think it is sitting kinda high. The guy im getting it from is alot taller than me so I might lower it some. Im not sure if the toolboxguys brackets are adjust like that. I know id have to cut the rear mounts shorter to to get the back of the cage closer to the frame.
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 05:07 PM   #5 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Member # 79815
Location: Lemoore, Ca
Posts: 174
I am 6'2", the bottom of the Hendrix chassis is even with the top of the frame rail. I have plenty of head room. The best part of building it yourself is that you can build it to fit yourself. Put the seat in where it feels comfortable, then build everything around it.
__________________
F-toy #075
AMSOIL
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
minam44 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 05:13 PM   #6 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Member # 63299
Location: Silsbee, TX
Posts: 1,818
im 6'2" but kinda skinny. when i mounted mine i put a 2x4 on the frame (laying on its side) and got the spacing that way. it is perfect, I have plenty of headroom. you will want to keep it as low as possible as you go.
__________________
SXOR Buggy--The Lone Survivor Foundation buggy
www.Lonesurvivorfoundation.org
Spacecwboy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 06:08 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
10-4 I guess I will be lowering it then.
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 07:06 PM   #8 (permalink)
Not a Wenzelite
 
MT4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44480
Location: MT
Posts: 37,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecwboy View Post
im 6'2" but kinda skinny. when i mounted mine i put a 2x4 on the frame (laying on its side) and got the spacing that way. it is perfect, I have plenty of headroom. you will want to keep it as low as possible as you go.
I'm 6'-6" and did the same. I definitely don't have too much or too little.
I had to notch my framerail to set my seat lower. I just have 3" of clearance with a helmet on--and when I took a medium-speed roll I didn't hit.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MT4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-27-2011, 08:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Im 5'8". Should I go lower than flush with the top of frame?
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2011, 03:20 AM   #10 (permalink)
Registered User
 
mtbrjon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Member # 36007
Location: TN
Posts: 3,926
[QUOTE=crawled;12584766]Im 5'8". Should I go lower than flush with the top of frame?[/


I wouldn't mostly for resale reasons. Plus what if some 6' smokin hot chick needs a ride you wouldn't want her to bump her head.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

"I wanna get me a truck and soop it up with some metal!" -Wingo

Last edited by mtbrjon; 02-28-2011 at 03:23 AM.
mtbrjon is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2011, 06:26 AM   #11 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Member # 78096
Location: Kingsport, TN
Posts: 1,660
Quote:
Originally Posted by Spacecwboy View Post
im 6'2" but kinda skinny. when i mounted mine i put a 2x4 on the frame (laying on its side) and got the spacing that way. it is perfect, I have plenty of headroom. you will want to keep it as low as possible as you go.
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT4Runner View Post
I'm 6'-6" and did the same. I definitely don't have too much or too little.
I had to notch my framerail to set my seat lower. I just have 3" of clearance with a helmet on--and when I took a medium-speed roll I didn't hit.
I'm 6' and used the same method to set the height. Works great.
Jeep07 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2011, 07:41 AM   #12 (permalink)
Always Late
 
ToolBox Guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Member # 89541
Location: Hesperia,CA.
Posts: 995
When you can, post a pic of the rear chassis supports and I'll tell you if they are the tall versions for the guys that want the chassis 2" off the frame.
ToolBox Guy is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 02-28-2011, 10:08 AM   #13 (permalink)
Granite Guru
 
SteelFuser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Member # 107225
Location: Chico,CA/ Texas
Posts: 961
It's my old chassis Brett, Had to sell it to pay for parts to modify the duramax for project baja dirtmax. It's set up right now to be 2" above the frame.

So long F-Toy. You will be missed but hello new project after dirtymax. I'm think I am going to build a Tacoma doublecab so I don't have to trailer anythin around.

Brett, you going to go to baja in April?
__________________
Baja Duramax more shit than yours.
NO FARMS, NO FOOD
SteelFuser is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 08:26 PM   #14 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
E lockers



One has the motor the other doesnt so I think im going to convert it to a cable. Should I convert both or run the motor? Also if i run the the motor what do I need for it? just switched power and a ground? the reason I ask is there is two plugs coming out of it. One has two wires I think thats just a sensor for the dummy light, but the other plug has five wires.
Help please
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-06-2011, 08:33 PM   #15 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Oh yea im also going to try putting my 5.29s in these. They are out of 4cyl thirds. Is the E-locker thirds the sme as v6 thirds? If so who has put the 4cyl r&p in a v6 third? do you really only need extra shims on the pinion to install said r&p? thanks
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 07:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Not a Wenzelite
 
MT4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44480
Location: MT
Posts: 37,218
You're right, one is the motor, the other is the locked indicator.
IIRC, use the locked indicator to stop your relay.

SeaBass has two different schematics out there for rewiring the e-locker. One uses relays, the other doesn't.

I didn't use the relay one; just used a fuse and a 10A DPDT switch.

Quote:
Originally Posted by crawled View Post
E lockers



One has the motor the other doesnt so I think im going to convert it to a cable. Should I convert both or run the motor? Also if i run the the motor what do I need for it? just switched power and a ground? the reason I ask is there is two plugs coming out of it. One has two wires I think thats just a sensor for the dummy light, but the other plug has five wires.
Help please
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MT4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 08:20 PM   #17 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
I skimmed through all his threads and didnt see what you were talking about. help! please

Oh and does anybody know about the gears?
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-07-2011, 08:21 PM   #18 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Is the E-locker thirds the same as v6 thirds, as far as what gear sets will work?
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2011, 01:56 PM   #19 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Brian Ellinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Member # 1088
Location: Colorado
Posts: 4,163
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawled View Post
Is the E-locker thirds the same as v6 thirds, as far as what gear sets will work?
Yes, only thing different is one carrier bearing. Everything else is the same as V6 diffs.
__________________
Now on FACEBOOK!

Thank you to our loyal customers!

Diamond Axle

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Diamond axled buggies take 2 1st's, at Worlds WEROCK!!

Front Range Off-Road Fab with NEW forum!

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.



NEW BUILD FTOY #44

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Brian Ellinger is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-08-2011, 02:02 PM   #20 (permalink)
Not a Wenzelite
 
MT4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44480
Location: MT
Posts: 37,218
Quote:
Originally Posted by crawled View Post
I skimmed through all his threads and didnt see what you were talking about. help! please
https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9576850


No Relay


With Relays


with relays--see bottom of pic to explain your plugs.




Have fun!!


:edit: Sorry, they weren't 12VoltGuy drawings. The first two were from 'foxfab' circa 2004, and the other is by a Mike Carter. 12VoltGuy (seabass44) does have a diagram that he prints and sends with his panels. I don't know if it is public use, so I won't scan it and make it public without his permission. FWIW, I used the first diagram (no relays) I linked for my elockers.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Last edited by MT4Runner; 03-08-2011 at 02:06 PM.
MT4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 10:40 AM   #21 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brian Ellinger View Post
Yes, only thing different is one carrier bearing. Everything else is the same as V6 diffs.
So I can use my 4cyl 5.29s with extra shims on the pinion?
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 11:06 AM   #22 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Thanks. Im going to try the one with out relays also. Is there any advantage to runnig relays? I mean why do it if theres a simpler way?


Quote:
Originally Posted by MT4Runner View Post
https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?p=9576850


No Relay


With Relays


with relays--see bottom of pic to explain your plugs.




Have fun!!


:edit: Sorry, they weren't 12VoltGuy drawings. The first two were from 'foxfab' circa 2004, and the other is by a Mike Carter. 12VoltGuy (seabass44) does have a diagram that he prints and sends with his panels. I don't know if it is public use, so I won't scan it and make it public without his permission. FWIW, I used the first diagram (no relays) I linked for my elockers.

Last edited by crawled; 03-09-2011 at 11:10 AM.
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 12:25 PM   #23 (permalink)
Not a Wenzelite
 
MT4Runner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Member # 44480
Location: MT
Posts: 37,218
One more piece of protection to keep your wiring from going up in smoke...

...but also a few more wires to come loose and to have to figure out when you're wiring it!!

Use a 10A switch and don't worry about it.
Maybe carry a spare switch. Fuse appropriately--5-10A, but no more.

Factory has longer runs of wire and lighter gauge, so the relays let you run very light gauge wiring to the switches in the dash. I ran the 7-conductor rubber-sheathed trailer cable back to my rear e-locker.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
-
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
MT4Runner is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-09-2011, 03:34 PM   #24 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
Quote:
Originally Posted by MT4Runner View Post
One more piece of protection to keep your wiring from going up in smoke...

...but also a few more wires to come loose and to have to figure out when you're wiring it!!

Use a 10A switch and don't worry about it.
Maybe carry a spare switch. Fuse appropriately--5-10A, but no more.

Factory has longer runs of wire and lighter gauge, so the relays let you run very light gauge wiring to the switches in the dash. I ran the 7-conductor rubber-sheathed trailer cable back to my rear e-locker.
thank you you've been very helpfull. I am still knot shure about the r&p though
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 03-12-2011, 07:46 PM   #25 (permalink)
Wheeler
 
crawled's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Member # 168917
Location: chico ca
Posts: 228
picking it up tomarrow fuckin exited!!!
crawled is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 05:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.