97' 4Runner Build Wontons - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-07-2019, 04:10 PM   #1 (permalink)

Member # 576234
97' 4Runner Build Wontons

So here i am making my first post on the notorious pirate4x4. Ive been surfing this forum for many years and have finally been convinced to start my own build thread. So here's what i got: 1997 Toyota 4Runner, 3.4L, SR-5. I originally bought the rig 3 years ago for $2,100 with 250,000 miles on the motor. I was told it was used solely to commute back and forth from Reno to the SF Bay Area with. Within the week I already had the thing up on jackstands in the garage and that is where it has stayed. Due to the work load of school i had not wrenched on it for a good year and a half but the ball has finally been rolling again and hope to have it done by the summer. Living in the SF Bay Area, the Con is only 3 hours away which is the typical wheeling spot. The plan is to build a rig that can drive me up and around town, wheel the trails, and then drive home. The rig will be doing mainly slow crawling on the rocks.
The game plan:

Front End- 1979 Ford D60 HP Kingpin/ 3 Link/ Hydro Assist/ Reid Knuckles/
14" Fox Emulsion Coilovers

Rear End- FF 14 Bolt/ ARB/ 5.13s/ 4 Link/ 12" Fox Emulsion Coilovers

Drive Train- Running a 4.7 Marlin Crawler Box to the stock 2.8:1/ Keeping it
Driver side drop/ FFOR T-case Mount

Fuel tank- 94' Ford F-150 Fuel Tank between frame rails in the rear

Here is a picture the day i drove it home

And here it is after only a week of owning it

Here is the Marlin Crawler Case that was purchased