Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum

Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum (/forum/)
-   Toyota - Truck and 4Runner (https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/12-toyota-truck-4runner/)
-   -   Son's first truck, maybe! (https://www.pirate4x4.com/forum/toyota-truck-4runner/2695046-sons-first-truck-maybe.html)

1985 Toyota 01-17-2020 07:03 PM

Son's first truck, maybe!

I got lucky (I think) and located a truck for my oldest and I to work on. It's an 85 pickup that's relatively straight with not too much rust.

He's 12 so we have a few years to get it going. I know it needs a fuel pump, front main seals, fresh fluids, radiator flush, etc. Once I get it to run, I'll do the timing chain, water pump, etc.

I had an 1985 4runner so I have some experience wrenching on these.

My main concern is keeping it from deteriorating over the coming years and preventing any further damage by nasty fluids. Driving it would be good and st some point, we might start taking it out.

Any tips on keeping an old truck from falling apart as we work on it and get it back to good mechanical condition? If we can shoehorn it into the garage we will. Not sure if it'll make it anytime soon. https://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...17f81040aa.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...962b32f526.jpghttps://uploads.tapatalk-cdn.com/202...20657d73c1.jpg

Sent from my SM-G965U using Tapatalk

JDWeeler 01-17-2020 07:24 PM

If that’s primer you might want to put some paint on it.
If it’s going to be sitting, pressure wash all the mud out from under it and paint where ever theirs rust to prevent it from rusting anymore.

Nasty fluids? Replace all the fluids so you know they are ok and you should be fine.
Flush the radiator, change the oil in the motor, and check for water in the axles.

If he’s 12 he might be driving it if you have a place to take him.
I use to fill pot holes on our road when I was 12 and use the car to compact them.

1985 Toyota 01-17-2020 08:41 PM

Quote: