A340 Transmission issues and FAQs - Page 6 - Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum
 
Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum  

Go Back   Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum > Brand Specific Tech > Toyota - Truck and 4Runner
Notices

Reply
 
Share LinkBack Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-01-2019, 10:04 AM   #126 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Boomtacoma01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 139434
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,126
Another question. Is there a difference in the input spline counts between an A340 and Aw4? I know a lot of the stuff interchanges. I'm just unsure if the TCs can be swapped.
__________________
1985 Xtra Cab - 22RE, 39" Red Labels, D60, 14B, 3 Link/4-Link, A340F, Atlas II 4.3, Lone Star Light....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2017 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4, 6.7 tow rig

IG: @boomtacoma01

-Chris
Boomtacoma01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-06-2019, 04:40 PM   #127 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Member # 166413
Location: Chico, CA
Posts: 323
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boomtacoma01 View Post
Another question. Is there a difference in the input spline counts between an A340 and Aw4? I know a lot of the stuff interchanges. I'm just unsure if the TCs can be swapped.
Both are 23 spline but they're different sizes

Sent from my Pixel XL using Tapatalk
downpour11 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Sponsored Links
Old 04-08-2019, 12:44 PM   #128 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Boomtacoma01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 139434
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,126
Quote:
Originally Posted by downpour11 View Post
Both are 23 spline but they're different sizes
It's the outputs that are 23 spline. I have the AA adapter to use my Atlas and it comes with the spud shaft to change the toyota 23 to the Jeep 23 spl.

The input on the AW4 is 26 from what I have read. Anyone know if the A340 is also 26?
__________________
1985 Xtra Cab - 22RE, 39" Red Labels, D60, 14B, 3 Link/4-Link, A340F, Atlas II 4.3, Lone Star Light....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2017 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4, 6.7 tow rig

IG: @boomtacoma01

-Chris
Boomtacoma01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
 
Old 04-08-2019, 06:07 PM   #129 (permalink)
Shift to the Best
 
R.DesJardin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 68266
Location: Clarkston/Spokane, WA
Posts: 2,275
Depends on year of trans. I fit up a AW4 converter to my 92 A340f, but my RZ converter was a different spline count and didn't fit. So I used a 3VZ converter to fit the RZ motor and the RE A340f. Simple.
__________________

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Shift controllers and shifters, AMS mounts
Toyota Triple & Twin Sticks
John 3:16- He is the answer.
R.DesJardin is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-09-2019, 07:07 AM   #130 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Boomtacoma01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 139434
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,126
I figure its going to be a bit of trial and error. I currently have an 02 A340F, 3.4 converter, 22re Bell Housing and Flex plate to my 85 22re. The 22re TC did not fit on my particular trans. I had to enlarge the holes on the 22re flexplate to align with the 3.4 TC.

The reason for all of the questions is that I intend to use a Novak 374-3 adapter and flexplate, an AW4 bell, AW4 TC with my a340F in order to run a GM 5.3

I just may rip all this out and run a 4l65 and change the inputs on my Atlas..
__________________
1985 Xtra Cab - 22RE, 39" Red Labels, D60, 14B, 3 Link/4-Link, A340F, Atlas II 4.3, Lone Star Light....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2017 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4, 6.7 tow rig

IG: @boomtacoma01

-Chris

Last edited by Boomtacoma01; 04-12-2019 at 12:30 PM.
Boomtacoma01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-11-2019, 01:50 PM   #131 (permalink)
Mall Crawler
 
Edisonsteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Member # 46928
Location: Whittier, CA
Posts: 841
Send a message via Yahoo to Edisonsteve


Run the 4l65

I run the spud shaft and think about it all the time. Im running a SC 3.4 A340 atlas 4spd
__________________
1994 Toyota Extra cab, Exo, SAS, Linked, Kings, Air Bumps, 60s, 5.38, Detroit/Detroit, 40"Maxxis Comp Trepadors, Supercharged 3.4 5vz V6, A340F Auto Trans Manual shift, Atlas 4.3 4spd, Winch front and rear. CA smog legal and DD

2018 Colorado ZR2 Duramax
2005 Dodge 2500HD Cummins 4x4 35s

Last edited by Edisonsteve; 04-11-2019 at 01:51 PM.
Edisonsteve is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-15-2019, 11:55 AM   #132 (permalink)
Rock God
 
Boomtacoma01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Member # 139434
Location: Houston TX
Posts: 1,126
Pretty much decided not to run the A340. Might as well mitigate any potential issue now rather than later.
__________________
1985 Xtra Cab - 22RE, 39" Red Labels, D60, 14B, 3 Link/4-Link, A340F, Atlas II 4.3, Lone Star Light....


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 10 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


2017 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4, 6.7 tow rig

IG: @boomtacoma01

-Chris
Boomtacoma01 is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Old 04-16-2019, 06:45 AM   #133 (permalink)
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Member # 67823
Location: Republic of Vancouver Island
Posts: 5,070
Pretty basic stuff, but my 500,000km 4runner with a 22re and an auto a340f was down for a month or so. When I started driving it again, the speedometer was working intermittently. I went for a drive, spent the day in the bush a long way from reception or civilization, and on my way home, I took off from a light and the trans was barely engaging, had to rev to 5000rpm to move, just to get off the road. Shut it down, restarted it, and it worked. Turns out the computer needs a speedo signal for the trans to work properly. My electric sender on the Tcase was still good, it was the dash cluster that had died. New cluster and it works properly again.
__________________
Big diesel Ford, a stable of white toyotas from '84-08, and a bw200. They all need work.
squamch is offline   Reply With Quote Quick reply to this message
Reply

Quick Reply
Message:
Options

Register Now

In order to be able to post messages on the Pirate4x4.Com : 4x4 and Off-Road Forum forums, you must first register.
Please enter your desired user name, your email address and other required details in the form below.
User Name:
Password
Please enter a password for your user account. Note that passwords are case-sensitive.
Password:
Confirm Password:
Email Address
Please enter a valid email address for yourself.

** A VERIFICATION EMAIL IS SENT TO THIS ADDRESS TO COMPLETE REGISTRATION!! **

Email Address:
Insurance
Please select your insurance company (Optional)

Log-in


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may post new threads
You may post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:21 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 4
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Search Engine Optimization by vBSEO 3.6.0 ©2011, Crawlability, Inc.
User Alert System provided by Advanced User Tagging (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.
vBulletin Security provided by vBSecurity v2.2.2 (Pro) - vBulletin Mods & Addons Copyright © 2019 DragonByte Technologies Ltd.