Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
6,536 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Pendy asks if I think the ZF transmission (or tranny for those of you who are comfortable with your sexuality), will hold up to the SBC 350.

******DISCLAIMER*******

I am not a mechanic, do not understand fully how automatic transmissions work, do not understand fully the torque and HP that engines generate and how they affect other components like transmissions, etc...

The following is my OPINION and is given with absolutely no guarantees or implications that they may be correct. Odds are they are probably incorrect.

*******END OF DISCLAIMER******

Hmmm...an interesting question. It is one that would make the conversion a bit easier I imagine.

I think that if the transmission were fresh, adequately cooled (more so than the factory offers perhaps), and the user was adequately familiar to the equipment it would probably work.

I have only had one problem with the ZF, and that was after the PO ran it dry and overheated it. The fittings on the tranny cooler leaked and she was too lazy/stupid to get it fixed until it was too late. I ended up swapping out the transmission for a junkyard unit after it refused to shift into any gear. Didn't give much warning prior to failure BTW.

The 350, although more powerful than any Rover engine, can be driven in a manner that is gentle on the components that come after it.

I have *HEARD* that the ZF is a common transmission in many British and German cars with more HP than a LR, so perhaps the idea of putting a 350 in front of it isn't a bad one.

I think though, that honestly, someone with a heavy right foot and the balls to drive the shit out of the engine/transmission is going to have to do it and be the guinea pig.

It's not going to be me.

This is what I am dreaming of next though for the CrewCab...

Duramax/Allison conversion :D