Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
1 Ton ball joint fix(got pics)

hey there I am in the middle of replacing the ball joints in my truck. I have a set of 1Ton axles out of a 99' F350 superduty I believe, and this is my first time having to do ball joints. I feel stupid asking this cause Im pretty sure I know whats goin on, but better be safe then sorry and disasemble more then I really have to. I was looking at my knuckle and seen that there isnt enough room for the upper ball joint to drop out, so I have to pull the axleshaft. My question is can I unbolt the whole hub assembely off the knuckle(4bolts)and slide it off the short shaft or do I have to disasemble the hub itself first?
(sorry if you dont like the dodge I had to show you my truck/project)

·
Premium Member
718 Posts
Take out the 4 nuts, everything should slide right out.

WTF is going on with the front hanger/x-member thingy?

·
Registered
3,307 Posts
x2 remove the unit bearing. or, you can try to disassemble it, but if you do... take pictures. :flipoff2::laughing: i think its 4 bolts.

pull the unit bearing, the shaft, then it gets easier. make sure you torque it all back to spec (including the unit bearing) when your done...

edit: do you have a press? or a ball joint installer/remover? it becomes a bitch really fast if not...

·
Registered
1,809 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
sweet thanks for the info thats what I was hoping to hear. Does anyone have any pictures of this unitbearding and is there anything I should know before unbolting the 4 nuts. I have a bubby with a press so Ill just take it over there,

·
Registered
4,937 Posts
x2 remove the unit bearing. or, you can try to disassemble it, but if you do... take pictures. :flipoff2::laughing: i think its 4 bolts.

pull the unit bearing, the shaft, then it gets easier. make sure you torque it all back to spec (including the unit bearing) when your done...