Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 48 Posts

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I picked this up from a guy who inherited it from his father in law and tore it all apart with the plan of restoring it. Obviously that didn't happen and it sat in pieces in his shop for a decade.

This is the condition it came home in.

I've made a lot of progress...

Here's my plan...

Engine: Ford 3.8 out of a mustang
Trans: T-90,T18 or a C4...
Trasnfer case: Dana 18
Front axle: NT Dana 30
Rear axle: offset dana 44 from a 70's CJ
Suspension: rear 2.5" lift springs all the way around pushing the front axle forward.
Tires: 35's and body trimmed as needed with rear axle moved back slightly but no comp-cut.

Picking up the axles and springs tomorrow as well as some wheels with dry rotted 33's to get me started. Hopefully my rate of progress is faster than the guy I bought it from. Aside from a body lift on a YJ and an engine replacement on a 'Yota pickup this is my first build project so I really have no idea what to expect.

I'm slightly concerned it'll be narrow and top heavy with the 35's and NT axles so toying with the idea of spacers or 60"wms axles.

·
Registered
35 Posts
1958 Willys CJ-3B "Pile'o'parts"

I've been running an 1989 Mitsubishi version of the CJ3B on 37s with about 8" of wheelbase stretch while SOA, no sway bars, just shocks and leafs. A nice set of wide wheels (~10") will help out a lot. I'm not that top heavy but I do have some body roll due to removed leafs from the pack. Even with being SOA without a stretch and on 35s you'll still be pretty stable on and off road.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
1,728 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Ok cool, I'll be SUA with about 5" of wheelbase stretch so should be fine.

·
Registered
35 Posts
1958 Willys CJ-3B "Pile'o'parts"