Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I went mudding for the first time this past week and have decided that I need a rig. A friend of mine is selling a 1978 4x4 5 speed toyota truck with a recently rebuild engine. The reason why he is selling is because he had some smog issues with some thermostat reading to hot. Anyway he is asking 700 for it. For those who think that I have no experience in a forum environment, I have searched past posts and the internet extensively and have found very little information on this vehicle. As I understand the first year that toyota imported these trucks is 1979, so this truck must be gray market or something. So what I want to know is can I hook parts, specifically lift kits, designed for a 1979 up to this truck or am I going to have to custom make everything? Thanks for your input.
David

·
Premium Member
1,176 Posts
I will let someone else answer the 78 vs 79 question... but if you want that rig for the mud... either don't bother, or put a 4.3L Vortec in it.

·
Banned
9,402 Posts
79 is the first year for a FACTORY toyota 4x4 in the pickups that use the drivetrain that people typicall refer to with the 20R/22R series stuff with toyota 8" Diffs.

From my understanding the 78 was a conversion that uses a D30 front end and some type of Jeep transfercase. I THINK....

DON'T BUY IT..... Unless you like being a oddball.

·
Registered
2,441 Posts
700 isn't a bad deal. the pre-79(i believe '75-78) were conversions made by wolverine and downey. rick's right, it uses a dana 30 front and dana 20 transfer case. i don't think it would be that bad of a deal though...you can always swap the front axle out for something better, and do a tranny/transfer case swap if you ever need to.

personally, i'd buy it. i've been thinking of buying a '78ish truck and converting it to 4wd myself, albeit with toyota parts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #5