Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone,
hope you guys are doing well. I'm new to this board and 4x4ing, although I've helped my buddy with his 1982 J10 for awhile. I have a question though, please dont flame me because I'm a newb.
I came across a 1999 Wrangler SE forsell for 1,500. The guy who's selling it is a friend of a friend. The reason it's so cheap is the engine needs rebuilt. I am no dummy when it comes to mechanical stuff, but I am when it comes to jeeps.
Well finally time for my question: Is this a good buy? I would like it to be a decent rig, nothing spectacular or anything. I was also wondering if it would be possible to swap a 4.0 into it, or even a small block chevy?
At this point, any links you could post for me, or info you could throw out would be very appreciated.
thanks a lot,
~nick

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
oh, heres the most retarded question I have to ask tonight...
is this wrangler a what they call a TJ? I'm not sure on all of the code words.

·
Registered
788 Posts
Yes, it is a TJ. Email me at [email protected] if you pass up the $1500 Jeep. It's a good buy if you know what you're doing mechanically.
Chris

·
Premium Member
14,733 Posts
Don't mind him..

97+ Jeep Wrangler = TJ

If you don't want it I`ll buy it for $1500...that's a hell of a deal!
You can find used jeep motors for a TJ or a YJ for under $1k..
So that will work... then depending on what kind of wheeling you do will depend on upgrades/mods etc... but for $1500 that's a great deal!!

I`ll take it if you don't!

·
Registered
788 Posts
As an explanation for P&T's response, most of the guys on this board fancy themselves "hardcore" wheelers and are offended by newbie questions:). JU is generally a friendlier place for guys new to Jeeps, and for lighter wheeling in general. Hope that helps.
Chris

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
thanks guys, I appreciate the info/link