Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
MY problem:

Own a 1997 TJ 4banger, AX5 - swapped in the 4.0L from 2000 Sahara along with the AX-15. Donor vehicle included engine harness and computer. Installed engine and tranny - no problem. Recently completed engine harness wiring - and all final details of installation. When it came to start- NOTHING. After adjusting all the conection on engine harness and replacing fuel pump- engine cranked! Engine roars on, and after 2-3 seconds it shuts right OFF! SAME RESULTS OVER OVER OVER OVER OVER OVER OVER.....

I can't figure it out, after reading the forums I realized everyone has issues with the swap...... I am in way to deeeep to pull out now. ANY HELP WOULD BE GREATLY APPRECIATED.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
The relay huh, well that will be next step. I am no electric expert, but I imagine that it ain't that hard?

As for the gent that asked about the wire harness, i have it there, e-mail me @ [email protected] - for details

I will keep you guys posted as to what happens with my darn 4 to 6 banger project........almost finalized....

·
Registered
711 Posts
Sounds like a sentry key to me. If you dont have the coded key, it will fire up then stall after a few seconds

·
Registered
336 Posts
v10sport said:
Sounds like a sentry key to me. If you dont have the coded key, it will fire up then stall after a few seconds
Yep, but I bet his SE didn't have Sentry Key to start with so He is gonna have to figure out how to get the parts to give it Sentry Key or to give the PCM the correct signal or maybe he can just get the pcm flashed to remove the Sentry Key. Of course it would be easier to swap the relay mentioned above first. He may get lucky, but my money is on the Sentry Key.

·
Registered
20 Posts