Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
New to this forum. Just bought a '79 3/4 K20 square body full time. I believe it has a TH350 and a NP 203 but haven't confirmed. I want to ditch the 203 in favor of a 205. Will the existing TH 350 have the correct tail shaft? (correct splines and length) Do all these trucks have a TH350 or do some have a TH400? Is this a difficult job for a shade tree mechanic?

Attachments

Reactions: 77c10squarebody

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Do I need a housing or drive sleeve? Does the 205 have to be specific to the TH350 ? I assume the 205 has to be 27 spline? Thanks!

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Sounds like I could get all these parts if I found a NP205 already mated to a TH350? Then I would know it would all mate to my TH350? Since I am not a professional mechanic, this would be a lot easier than trying to collect all the parts separately. I am guessing it wouldn't be hard to find a 205 mated to a TH350?

·
blatant asshole
12,967 Posts
Meh. Depending on your budget and location.
Sm465 are the most common and could be used if you swap the input shaft.

Ord and aa make new adapters and couplers are easy enough.
More than anything else you just need a small bearing fig8 bolt pattern case.
Multiple gm and dodge 23spl can all work.

Where are you.
Theres several th350 205s around nor cal.

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Meh. Depending on your budget and location.
Sm465 are the most common and could be used if you swap the input shaft.

Ord and aa make new adapters and couplers are easy enough.
More than anything else you just need a small bearing fig8 bolt pattern case.
Multiple gm and dodge 23spl can all work.

Where are you.
Theres several th350 205s around nor cal.
charlotte, NC

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
charlotte, NC
Double checking: