Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
414 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
How many guys have run with one of these??
How did ya like / dislike it??
I've heard from a couple sources that they are a lot more aggressive than normal (isn't that the point??), but none of which actualy drove with one.
Sales guy was talkin like it was a bad thing :confused:
'Rachets when it disenguages'
So far options seem to be Detroit, Spool, & ARB.
They all got there good points
ARB - Selectable (Duh), more switches :D
Detroit - proven, trouble free
Spool - price tag :flipoff2:
I was sold on the Detroit, but now I wanna know how 'aggressive' the Detroit is, and if it realy is different from the regular one I have now.
It will see a lot of pavement between trails.

·
Registered
211 Posts
I have been running one for about 2 yrs. I havent noticed anything out of the ordinary. It is not a (softlocker) like some of the Detroits. You should be fine. I wouldnt have it any other way. Rocky

·
Registered
1,434 Posts
I've driven a friend's rig with one and would say it is less agressive than mine. I have a 31spline Detroit with the heavy springs. It's not a soft locker by any means, but the only time I would consider it harsh is when your going really slow in a parking lot - you can feel it ratchet. once actually moving or off-highway, you really don't notice it..

·
Registered
3,939 Posts
Harsher depends on the vehicle, driver type and other factors. The lockers are the same except for the spline count. They can feel harsher because you now have a 35 spline shaft which torsions a lot less than the 31 spline.
I have run a 35 spline detroit (lenco) for about 5 years and I like to drive my rig around town alot.

·
Registered
5,351 Posts
I am just installing my new 35 spline detroit. I cannot imagine it being any different than the 31, other than what aggro said about the stiffer axles.