Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
2,202 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I going to put in gears and run 35's on my 87 Toyota 4runner. I was going to put in 4.88 at first, but than I was thinking (that’s a bad thing I spend more money) it seems like everyone likes the 5.29's. The one problem I run into is worrying about the teeth getting to small on the ring and pinion and breaking. I think I might go to the real low end and put in 5.71's but that problem with the ring and pinion teeth breaking comes up again. I would like to hear from some of you about the 5.29's and the 5.71's. Remember this is the daily driver for now cause I'm a student and work on a farm that doesn't pay [email protected]#K.

·
Registered
7,442 Posts
The 4.88s and 5.29s you dont have to worry about breaking. It is the 5.71s that are really weak. If you want more torque, go with the 5.29s...

KC

·
Premium Member
1,220 Posts
Hmmmm.....

Daily driving, 5.29s.

Trail use only, with a marlin ultimate, 4.10s (more strength).

I've broken 5.29s, and I know others who have also. Heck, I've seen 4.10s break.

What do I run? 5.29s. If I had it to do over, I'd go with 4.10s for the added strength. I've got the "ultimate" setup, so for off road, I've got the gears to pull it off.

But, until they all break and need replacing, it's 5.29s

·
Registered
414 Posts
I run 5.71's on my ifs d.d and have yet to break them. I'm doing the sas next week and I am still gonna run them. I need to sell the ifs gears(cheap price), so if you are interested email me at [email protected]

·
Registered
691 Posts
do 5.29's, anything less and ur acceleration will be horrendus.

of course it is still bad with 5.29's, but what can u do........:flipoff2:

·
Registered
478 Posts