Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 122 Posts

·
Learning by Mistakes
1,501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all. I’ve been on Pirate for a while, but haven’t posted much. I know enough to keep my mouth shut when I don’t know what the hell I am talking about, and not to ask questions that can be easily answered by doing a quick search. I wasnt sure if I should put this in the hardcore section or not, cus Im a newbie and my skilz suck ass. But it is not everyday you see 40 year old jeeps cut in half. :flipoff2:

About me and my build…

33, married 10 years to my hot as hell wife (you can ask all you like but no TOGTFO), 4 kids (ages 11, 8, 4, and almost 2) and a 6 year old boxer. I had a 99 TJ that I bought new, put a lift and 35’s on, took to Moab a bunch of times, and kept till my family outgrew it.

I went a year without a jeep, and got the itch to get another one. I found a ’69 Jeepster Commando that was completely rusted out for $800 (which was way too much) and decided it would be a good project.

Fast forward a few years and a few kids later, the Jeepster project has only been taken apart, nothing seems to be going back together. I was getting discouraged, and found another one for sale, that was 95% complete. The guy building it was in the mortgage business and needed some money quick. I picked it up for a good deal, finished it up and started enjoying my hobby. We went to Silverton CO last summer with the Jeepster Commando Club of America and had a blast.

Last year, I found a bone stock ’70 Jeepster convertible that had no rust on it, other that a bit of surface rust. I couldn’t pass it up, so I picked it up and added it to the collection.

Here is a link to my build on the JCCA with lots more detail of getting to where I am now. If anyone needs Jeepster questions answered, here is a virtually flame free site. There are a lot of great guys on this site.
http://jeepstercommandoclub.com/forum/viewtopic.php?f=9&t=8732