Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Quick background
Building my first truck, 1937 Dodge cab(body) on a custom built frame all kinds of new stuff under it.
I am a newbie when it comes to building trucks so I am stumbling my way through this. Hopefully have something fun to drive at the other end. So please excuse my dumb question.

I am at the point of setting up my Tri 4 link and I am running the calculator to make sure I have all my mounting locations correct.
Below is what I have come up with.

My question is when I go through the travel of the rear using the calculator the pinion angle changes,

UpTravel

DownTravel

I assume this is normal? again please excuse the newb.

Will this setup work? This is all based on measurements and mounting locations I can use.

Thanks for the help.

Scott

·
Premium Member
449 Posts
Lower your antisquat 25-50%

Your pinion angle change is due to longer uppers than lowers, you want your uppers about 75% the length of your lowers (or at least just shorter some and not longer)

Much longer lowers would help a ton, also move the axle side mount up to get your AS down.

Uppers don't need that much triangulation, this will help shorten them up.

You want your roll axis angle negative a couple degrees, if you lower your frame upper link mount this will help, then adjust the rest of your mounts to get the AS back in the 50-75% range

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok I will look at what options I have.

couple of questions:

Why would I want my anti squat so low?

This is general purpose vehicle and from the calculator website it says that 100% is a good default starting point.

Thanks for your help.

Will update when I have some new link positions.

Scott

·
Registered
147 Posts
Depends on what you are building for. Is this a crawler? Or just a show rig?