Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 58 Posts

·
Premium Member
61 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Little back story, the shop I have been renting for the last 3 years isn't cutting it anymore.
Low ceilings, no heat, no insulation, not enough space, and renting held me back from changing any of that. Plus it is 25 minutes away from where I live.

I am having a contractor that does some work for the company I work for doing most of the work.
I told him what I wanted, and a bunch of money later he started work.

My Jeep has been sitting for over 3 years. It would take me 10 years to build this barn.

On to the new barn, it is 40’x48’ with 16’ ceilings, concrete floor, plenty of power and more room.

The basics:
200 amp service
12’ tall 16’ wide insulated garage door
6 windows on 3 sides for cross ventilation
Metal ceiling
40’x8’ loft for added storage, you can never have enough room.
Large wrap around front porch.
There isn’t a flat area of land on the property…

On to the Electrical:
I wanted to do it right once… We will see how long before I want to add to what I have planned.

120V - 4 outlet (quad boxes) on each support post (8’ OC). Each wall is on its own 20 amp beaker, and all done in 2/10 wire.

220v – 3 outlets around the barn for welder/plasma/air compressor (all on 50 amp breakers). Pre wired 220v line in the ceiling for future lift.

Lighting:
Inside:
Two 40’ runs of double florescent lights on the ceiling. These are on 4 switches so each corner can be turned on independently.

Under loft:
There is 1 run of double florescent lights running 36’ on 2 switches.

Prewired for 2 ceiling fans, each on its own switch.

Exhaust fan with adjustable speed control.

Outside:
Motion light on left and right site of building with switches inside to turn off if needed.
Spot light in front of garage door.
6 can lights under the front porch.
Man door light at front and back man door.

Insulation: