Pirate 4x4 banner

6801 - 6820 of 6857 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
161 Posts
Has anyone managed to get the stock tach to work on a TJ without an emulators, or has anyone built their own emulator? Some guy on Facebook claims to have done it, but I can’t get the results to duplicate. I’d rather not have to use an emulator if possible, and I’d rather not have to buy one.
I made my stock tachometer work in my '01 TJ and in an '04 TJ 10-11 years ago. I did a lot of searching at the time and as far as I could tell, mine was the first, or at least the first posted online. It still works as it should in both Jeeps. Both Jeeps have 5.3 LM7 engines. I posted all of the information that I had learned in the process on Jeeps Unlimited. All of that stuff is gone now. I also sent it to Novak when they started asking questions a few years later. I'd like to believe that their emulator is directly connected to what I had learned in the process. I contacted Advance Adapters about it as well, but they were not interested.

I did not go the route of designing a circuit to send to the Jeep computer, even though that is within the scope of where I work and what I do. Instead, I went with an all mechanical setup that still uses the Jeep crank and camshaft sensors. It cost less than $100, but there were quite a few hours of machining time for a camshaft sensor trigger and for a trigger ring that goes on the GM balancer. It's not the simplest setup, but it has worked well so far. If I were to do it again, I would just purchase the Novak emulator and be done with it.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
16 Posts
california swap

start off by saying I did the 5.3/4l60e swap into a 1981 cj8,put all the emissions parts in cats,o2 sensors,charcoal canister, purge valve,tank pressure sensor,check engine lite,sent the harness and computer to wayne,have driven it about 500 miles now with no cel so far.The jeep had the 151 in it before the swap,now with the v8 its a lot of fun.So now I take it to the referee to get the blessing and he askswhat I did to it before hooking it up to his computer,so I tell him I got the donor parts from a 2005 Tahoe and he stops me rite there and says I couldn't do the swap because the Tahoe is considered a medium duty machine and the scrambler is a light duty machine(wtf).If anybody has any ideas please help I don't want to just give up on this project,to much time and money to just forget it. All ears
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,609 Posts
So when he hooks up to it with his machine Whats going to tell him it’s from
I dunno. I'm just thinking that if he failed you based strictly on your story and not data, tell him a different story.
So that you're not lying, I'll tell you it came from a 2005 Camaro.
Hey, it came from a 2005 Camaro. :D
Now you can say 'I was told it's from a 2005 Camaro'

If it turns out that once he connects up to it he is able to tell you that it's from a Tahoe somehow you'll stand corrected. you can then say 'huh. weird. I was told it was from a 2005 Camaro. I'll have to look into that'.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
83 Posts
Ask Wayne, he has probably been there before. Must be something in the ECU that id's the donor, maybe that can be part of the flash? BTH mine was from an '07 Tahoe, he did the ecu and harness in 2011. Sure glad I don't live in Kalifornia. I like JayMcJay's approach.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
49 Posts
Here is my experience. I asked Wayne about changing the VIN in the GM PCM and he said he can only change it to another compatible GM vin, not the jeep vin. Mine comes up as an 05 silverado i believe. When i took it in for emissions, i told them it was swapped and would pull a GM vin when plugged in. All they did was change the engine size spec for my Jeep vin within the CT emissions system, so it will forever be 5.3 liters. It was a fairly painless experience, just ensure you are otherwise emissions legal for your area. They nearly failed me for a non-op check engine light, but i relocated it to the knee panel. It happens to be fairly obscured by the wiper stalk, which is why they missed it.

Reading back to your post, i am astonished that they are trying to plug the thing in at all. Its pre-obd2, so it should be rolled and sniffed. You would pass with flying colors with all the modern equipment. Maybe find another spot and not tell them? You could get the cj8 with a v8 right? If they really care, tell them its an EFI modified 304/360. No one will be the wiser.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
705 Posts
start off by saying I did the 5.3/4l60e swap into a 1981 cj8,put all the emissions parts in cats,o2 sensors,charcoal canister, purge valve,tank pressure sensor,check engine lite,sent the harness and computer to wayne,have driven it about 500 miles now with no cel so far.The jeep had the 151 in it before the swap,now with the v8 its a lot of fun.So now I take it to the referee to get the blessing and he askswhat I did to it before hooking it up to his computer,so I tell him I got the donor parts from a 2005 Tahoe and he stops me rite there and says I couldn't do the swap because the Tahoe is considered a medium duty machine and the scrambler is a light duty machine(wtf).If anybody has any ideas please help I don't want to just give up on this project,to much time and money to just forget it. All ears
In Commiefornia, the donor engine must be from the same weight class vehicle as the jeep, meaning that in the case of the CJ, you must get the donor engine and all wiring and smog accessories from a light duty vehicle with a gross weight of 6000lbs or lower. The emissions label will say "Light Duty Truck". Not sure what the GVWR is on a Tahoe. You must find a stock, unmodified PCM with a GM VIN from a light duty truck, California emissions certified if your CJ originally was sold with CA emissions. Maybe from a 5.3l Trailblazer or H3 Hummer? The only thing you can modify on the PCM is anti-theft if it had it.

All the rules are on the BAR's website, in the 2019 Smog Check Reference guide, Appendix D, on page 45:
https://smogcheck.ca.gov/pdf/Smog_Check_Reference_Guide.pdf
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
2 Posts
Yeah that’s all what I’ve heard /Thought, but this is what he is saying you have to do:


“TACHOMETER:

And now for the info you came here for. First off, I cannot take full credit for this. Greg Byars was kind enough bounce a few messages back and forth with me with research he did, and in the end, it was a $0 working setup😁

First and foremost, you will need access to tuning software to make adjustments to your Tach Output settings on your GM ECM. What you need to change in you tach output settings (see photos) is the HIgh and Low resolutions. Some ECM's will have a "Pullup" or "No Pullup" Type option in addition to the Resolution. Set the Type (if applies) to "No Pullup", set you High Resolution to "1" and your Low Resolution to "1" (see photos). Flash this back to the ECM.

Next, you will need to locate your Tach Output wire on your GM ECM, it is a solid white wire on pin 10. (99-02 ECM tach wire is on the RED connector while 03-07 is on the GREEN connector. This applies to the 4.8/5.3/6.0 engines)

Then, on the BLACK connector on your Jeep ECM, you want to locate pin 8 (CRANKSHAFT POSITION SENSOR SIGNAL). This is a GRAY wire with a BLACK STRIPE.

Then locate pin 18 (CMP SIGNAL). This is a TAN wire with a YELLOW STRIPE.

This is where things get stupid simple. Simply take Pins 8 and 18 of the Jeep ECM and connect them directly to pin 10 in the GM ECM. Congratulations, you now have a working Tachometer without the need for expensive converters / emulator boxes.

(Drops Mic) 🎤”
Has anyone tried this? Does it really work?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
I'm looking to make a comprehensive guide to doing an LS swap into a TJ. I'm compiling all the videos and threads that have helped me plan my swap. My goal is to list them below and then later make a full doc with links to each video. Are there others out there that you know of that I don't have on my list?

bobwilson84, putting LS into YJ
ucandoit2 - putting LS into CJ
joester1908 - Put LS into TJ
Serama555 - putting LS into TJ
BSKGarage - putting LS into TJ
TheAsapAutomotiveChannel - putting LS into TJ
Dirona - Put 5.2 into TJ
MontanaLowGear - Put 5.9 into TJ
SpeedBump - Put LS into YJ
JustinMelton - Put 5.2 into TJ
zmotosports - Put LS into JK
WorknDirt - Put Hemi in LJ
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
619 Posts
TJ Ls Gen3 Gen4 Mounts brand new for sale

Novak MMTJ_G3 GM Generation III & IV V8 Engine Mounts TJ & LJ Wrangler Jeeps Brand New with rear mount. A great deal $150 + $15.00 shipping

Novak's weld-in engine mounts for the Jeep TJ & LJ Wranglers provide immense strength and a precise GM Vortec & LS V8 engine installation. PayPal $165 to [email protected] or text/call 435-210-8366
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
212 Posts
I'm looking to make a comprehensive guide to doing an LS swap into a TJ. I'm compiling all the videos and threads that have helped me plan my swap. My goal is to list them below and then later make a full doc with links to each video. Are there others out there that you know of that I don't have on my list?

bobwilson84, putting LS into YJ
ucandoit2 - putting LS into CJ
joester1908 - Put LS into TJ
Serama555 - putting LS into TJ
BSKGarage - putting LS into TJ
TheAsapAutomotiveChannel - putting LS into TJ
Dirona - Put 5.2 into TJ
MontanaLowGear - Put 5.9 into TJ
SpeedBump - Put LS into YJ
JustinMelton - Put 5.2 into TJ
zmotosports - Put LS into JK
WorknDirt - Put Hemi in LJ
Alexia - Put L99/6L80E into LJ - https://comancheclub.com/topic/56419-62-ls3l99-and-6l80-in-my-lj/
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
31 Posts
Good one, that's a gen 4 and you have a legit garage and some intense fabbing skills! Hows it holding up? Did you change the rear end?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
212 Posts
Good one, that's a gen 4 and you have a legit garage and some intense fabbing skills! Hows it holding up? Did you change the rear end?
I am actually leaving that shop behind! I just moved.

I have done 5,000 miles without trouble or a break down.(Other than running out of gas.) I kept the rear D44 with ARB locker and put in upgraded axle shafts. It has held up to me launching it on the street. The transfer case internals were upgraded as well.

I am working on the GMLAN CAN to Chrysler PCI code right now to keep my stock instrument cluster. https://twitter.com/Azxiana/status/1216124283832893448/photo/1
 
6801 - 6820 of 6857 Posts
Top