Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 163 Posts

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is my first build and there seems to alot of willys intrest lately so here it is. I have all of my pics on photobucket under 53willysbuild. This is a work in progress and as we all know the more we look at stuff the more we will probably change!!

Specs to date
Dana 44 front
14 bolt rear
400 chevy
465/205 trans/transfer
home brewed hydraulic clutch
toyota steering box with Sky MFG arms
37" MTRs with H1 wheels and new pressed centers(should be here next week)
and my latest I extended the cab 6", just not enough room to get a decent set of seats in.

·
Registered
584 Posts

Great start on your build too by the way! I like the toyota steering box, im going to run full hydraulic so i have no box to worry about. Good luck

·
Registered
584 Posts
just copy the img code that shows up in your photobucket acct.
double left click and it copies, then paste it here

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #9
Well heres the deal...I found this truck in the weeds last fall, I have only seen one or two of these in my area which makes it a unique project to start with. Then throw in my inablity to leave things alone and you get a project that just seems to morph. Here is what I had to start with.

I boxed the frame front to back with 1/8" plate and fixed a few rust spot just behind the cab and some crack up front from a previous hack job.

The frame has been extended 8" to accomadate longer springs and strech the WB to 116"

A shot of the trans/transfercase and my first try at motor mounts.

Second attempt at motor mounts, first ones hit the header on the driver side

Some time in june the floor disappeared all I could save was about 4 inches in the rear of the cab

The start of the firewall and floor

·
Registered
107 Posts
Discussion Starter #10
The finished floor.

and firewall

...untill the cutoff wheel went crazy