Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
66 F100 4x4
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey, first post, looking forward to becoming more active with this forum, but for now, have a question. I'm new to 4x4s, primarily have worked on classic Ford cars, but recently picked up '66 F100 4x4 with Dana 44 front, Dana 60.3 rear. My front hubs have Mile Marker lock outs and both don't function and I’m attempting to replace with new Warn units. I removed the outer lock out mechanism but now attempting to remove the inner sleeve that slides over the axle shaft and has the 6 small hex screws that hold the outer lock out assembly to the hub. For the sleeve, I’ve removed the outer wire retaining ring and inner snap ring but cannot get the sleeve to budge. I've chased the grooves with a pick where the retaining ring and snap ring reside to see if any junk is stuck in there, made a plate and used a puller, and heated up the hub with a torch until the wheel grease boiled, but nothing moves; what finally gives is the screws snap. Appears the sleeve is really rusted into the hub. What are my options here? Can I remove the spindle/knuckle and hammer the outer axle shaft out through the backside? Do I just need to destroy the inner sleeve with an air chisel or am I just entirely missing something?

Thanks!
Brent

Automotive tire Rim Automotive wheel system Auto part Circle

Automotive tire Wood Rim Automotive wheel system Circle

Automotive tire Wheel Motor vehicle Rim Circle

Light Tool Gas Propeller Metal

Eye Gas Snout Metal Personal protective equipment

·
Registered
384 Posts
I had a 1971 F-100 and stock it came with a Dana 30 with mini-king pins.

Dana 30 Front Axle - 1966 to 1971 FORD BRONCO

#51 and #53 are axle lock nuts that take a special 4 prong socket to remove. Though I suppose you could butcher them off with a chisel.

If you check a picture for a Dana 44-6CF (assuming it was swapped in along with the Dana 60) you would see your shaft is not threaded at the end.