Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Newbie here, I dont have a 4x4 but a 1968 GMC swb, 2wd that Im rebuilding right now. I have purchased a crate 8.1L engine to swap in this truck but Im now finding out that this is not a popular swap. After seaching around I found that alot of folks here on this site have done the 8.1L swap and seem really knowledgable on this engine....

So here goes- if you want to pm with your comments me thats fine....

1. Who did you harness, how much and are you happy with it?

2.Have someone rework a stock harness or start from scratch?

3.Is it better to leave in the O2 senors? I have 2 different answers on this from 2 different harness makers.

4.Are you happy with the performance? Other than a custom tune, any other suggestions other than maybe a regap of the plugs, and the 180 thermo swap?

5. I really want this truck to be a good driver, not another hotrod, something I could drive out of town with. That being said, I really want to go with a 4l80eHD, trans. But from what I have read I have to cut up the cab floor and make a new trans tunnel. Not a big deal but just one more thing to do. But the question is: If I go with some 3.08 rear gears or higher, would I be happy on the hwy with a th400? (already have the th400) Or stay with the 3.73's (in the truck now) and go with the 4l80e?
If you went with the 4l80e what shifter did you use?
Im sure the later is the better answer, but in terms of money, its getting thin. And this dilima is the problem I need to resolve first before I do the harness and tune and put the interior back in...

6. What kind of gauges are you using? Dont really want to spend $1000.00 on gauges if I dont have to.

7. As far as the front of the engine, all the accessories, alt, powersteering, ect-- What did you use? The stock mounting bracket or custom fab some brackets up?