Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
59 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello fellas. I' a newbie here and love this site. Excellent how-to's and info!It actually helped me rebuild my 87' 4x4 toyota 5spd.Thx fo sho:D.
But anyhow here's my dilemma. I purchased a 91 Sammi for dirt cheap $500w/ 67,000+ orig.miles. Its still stock with 1.3 TBI. Got it running now, but runs like Sh!t and overheats. But anyway I hunt/guide alot in AZ and do some moderate 4x4 trail riding. I'm basically going from hunting spot to hunting spot in remote areas if I get this rig running.
IYO what should I do? Replace headgasket and keep that 1.3 and buy SPOA conversion and tires with money saved.
Whats the overall gain or cost effectiveness from swapping 1.3 to 1.6 8v. I know its about 20-30hp gain but is it worth all that effort,time and money? Thx and Happy Trails.

·
Registered
209 Posts
I am bias,simply because I have a 1991 EFI 1.3 that runs very well. Engine wise it is totally stock. As I understand your post, you would really appreciate my Zuke.

I have only experienced the 1.3, and I do snivel to it's HP short cumming. But, that is only on the highway, going up a long hill.

I have a Trail Tough YJ SPOA w/Missing Links, and the TT knuckle steering. Absolutely no problems.

To give you a direct answer (and short answer) to your question: "... Replace headgasket and keep that 1.3 and buy SPOA conversion and tires with money saved ...", I would replace the headgasket.

Wayne

·
Premium Member
2,702 Posts
Hello fellas. I' a newbie here and love this site. Excellent how-to's and info!It actually helped me rebuild my 87' 4x4 toyota 5spd.Thx fo sho:D.