Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey there,

Today's my first day on the forum, looks good though, I'm impressed.

I'm about to buy my first 4x4, and I'm looking at a 92 4Runner. I just had a pre-purchase inspection done, and the garage found some problems with the steering and suspension.

Since I'm new to 4x4's, and new to 4runners, I'm looking for some advice about how much this type of repair might cost, and whether you all think it's still a smart purchase.

Here's the skinny. They recommended:
- new idler arm
- new pitman arm
- replace inner and outer tie rods (they're worn.)
- front wheel bearings are loose. (replace?)
- they think it could also have steering box problems, but can't tell while that stuff is wonky.

The front brakes are also pretty worn, so I'd change those at the same time if I was doing the work. (Pads and left rotor.)

The guy at the garage guessed this might run about $1500-$2000 CDN (wild guess), but someone else there who was more into 4x4's said it could end up running higher.

Am I walking into a money pit?

The guy wants $6K for the truck, it's otherwise in really great shape. But with these "instant" repairs it's going to run $8K. Is that worth it?

Thanks in advance if anyone can help...

Oh yeah, he said the front cover on the engine is leaking a tiny bit of oil too. Suggested shampoo to see how bad it really is. Any idea how big a repair on that is on these trucks?

·
nice roach.
5,722 Posts
toyotaboy said:
what do you do to wear out a pitman arm????
IFS trucks have a balljoint/ tie rod end in the end of the pittman arm... i guess thats worn out..... my advice negotiate the price of the truck down with the worn out stuff and put a straight axle under it... you'll be removing everything you'd replace fixing the ifs once you use it a while and decide that you want to sas the truck.....

my .02 :)

·
Registered
2,429 Posts