Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys I am very new at this!!! I have a stock 95 YJ and I am wondering what is the best way to go for wheeling??? I dont want to spend a lot of money so the cheaper the better and I havent a clue where to buy the stuff (preferable online). I am thinking i want 33's but prolly no bigger for now. SO please help to make my stock POS a wheeling beast.
Thanks for the help, Sherm

·
Registered
1,219 Posts
This is the wrong board for that kind of post. At least post it in the newbie section. The best thing you can do if you are new to wheeling is read everything on this board, and search for every question you could have. After you have read at least 600 posts then think about posting your own. Start off small, you say cheap, well then you can't afford to fix everything you are going to break also. Get some 2" lift springs, and run 31" tires. You will not break much, join a club and practice.

Ben

·
Premium Member
5,760 Posts
Sherm said:
[B stock YJ ....cheaper the better ....my stock POS a wheeling beast.[/B]
this is not a cheep sport, and as for "wheeling beast", the "cheaper is better" attitude will not get you there soon

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
Sherm said:
ok guys I am very new at this!!! I have a stock 95 YJ and I am wondering what is the best way to go for wheeling??? I dont want to spend a lot of money so the cheaper the better and I havent a clue where to buy the stuff (preferable online). I am thinking i want 33's but prolly no bigger for now. SO please help to make my stock POS a wheeling beast.
Thanks for the help, Sherm
What's the best set up???
Where should we start?

Axles would be an obvious upgrade.
Your "wheeling beast" should have Dana 60s front and rear at least. Throw in gears and lockers front and rear & high steer.

For lift, start out with a spring over axle conversion, with some sort of lift springs, preferrably some customized springs.