Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Howdy all. Noob here. I posted over at Toyotanation, but forums I frequent usually move much faster than that......and this one seems to move more my speed so I figure I'll ask here & see........

I recently acquired a '94 (22RE). It's a great truck!! I am lovin' the heck out of this thing, except I want to bring it up to snuff as quickly as possible. I've done some fluid changes & other stuff, but I have a couple probs currently givin' me trouble........

#1.) A/C blower sounds like it's blowin' well, but even on high isn't very powerful. (I'm used to Toys blowin' like a blizzard).........sooooooo.........it was suggested that it could be the "BLOWER RESISTOR"(?). But, when I look on autozone.com or napa.com I only find a blower motor. It's $75 and I'll certainly spend it if it fixes the prob, but I guess the *evaporator* can leak oil into itself and clog air flow?? Anyway.........any suggestions on bringin' some airflow back would be much appreciated!!!!!!

(Being that the blower sounds like it's runnin' hard, I don't know think the blower's got anything wrong with it.)

#2.) I wanna change the A/C belt and the alternator belt but while the Alternator belt looks easy enough, I don't see how I can loosen slack on the A/C belt without removing the whole A/C unit. That little idler pulley there doesn't look like it's gonna give enough to get the belt off the pulleys. Any tricks??

(BTW, imho, the Haynes manual SUCKS in this regard. Haynes let me down here.)

TIA!!! :)

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
OK, so I got a look at a little bit........(actually had my 8 year old daughter help me bleed the brakes last night.....she's learnin' as we go).........