1 - 20 of 500 Posts

·
Toyota Dismantlation
4,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Project NutKase! 1st Gen Hilux Bastard

Formally Project Hilux WTF
http://pirate4x4.com/forum/showthread.php?t=621310
I've decided to bring my build to a new thread for a fresh start and a more experienced budget build. This is my first project. I plan on finishing on the cheap for now, and it will be a perfect, clean platform for upgrades.
I started with this; 79 cab on an 85 frame with f/r 85 axles geared 4:88 on 32 inch tsl's, 83 bed, 87 motor, weber DCOEs, no experience and a whole lot of rust! Drove it to its current home and it's been dying for the trails. The frame was complete garbage which led me to buy a 2nd gen 2wd truck and I had been planning on SASing that frame but plans changed.

Broken passenger side leaf spring perch.

Radiator was jb welded Blown head gasket, blown exhaust manifold gasket, hole in timing chain cover, springs bouncing around in bellhousing, etc

·
Toyota Dismantlation
4,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #2 (Edited)
bought a rebuild kit, but it ended up getting used with a brand new engine that's in my dd now.

So the 79's frame (85) is completely rusted out

Those rodents f#cked this frame up.
Proceeded to rebuild the cab, almost complete, read up on my other post for other info but updates are here now.
Anyways, I just picked up an 88 parts truck today with mostly everything I need. :smokin:
This is how it sat before i bought it. tranny pulled, supposedly has blown head gasket, running on 2 cylinders yada yada yada

Custom step side bed made in Cali, fiberglass fenderflares

·
Toyota Dismantlation
4,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #3 (Edited)
stripped my 84 celica last weekend, ready for a laugh?

took all the hardware, spare parts i needed, and selling the rest.

got it to the garage at 7pm, under the KNIFE!

Attachments

·
Toyota Dismantlation
4,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)