·
Registered
224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I've never seen it, have you?

·
Registered
241 Posts
Is there tech to related to this question? Do you want to know something specific about spring under?

I personally have a few questions about spring under axles:

Is there less axle wrap, more articulation, smoother ride, and is there a tendency to break main leaves?

Hopefully someone can jump in and give some tech related info.

·
Registered
472 Posts
This last week I have been thinking the same thing. I am swapping in 1tons, 40's, and sbc want to keep it real low, thought about doing a spring under but there seem to be more positives to a spring over than a spring under.

Just speculation on what i have searched and read, I have very little experience with either and my opinion is as worthless as... ( insert here )

Spring over
more travel, more axle clearance, ?absorbs hard its better? flater springs to acheive desired hieght, may need track bar to prevent axle wrap
Spring under
lower ride hieght is acheived easily, less spring wrap, less flex, less axle clearance ...Etc...

Just some BS I have heard.

I think I am going to use 3" TG springs, SOA, and French the hangers, some other stuff to keep it low, around 105"-110" wheelbase, runs some beafy trac bars to prevent axle wrap and hope it works.

·
Premium Member
15,352 Posts
Spring under is :rainbow:---- Kinda makes you wonder why heeps were that way :laughing:

·
Premium Member
11,333 Posts

not in a rock crawling application, but in desert racing i have seen it quite a bit... loooong lightly arched deaver's spring under to keep it low but still pull 17+in of wheel travel and control axle wrap without any sort of traction aid that can limit free travel.

almost looks as if you could use some 63in chevy's to do the same thing with... that is if you were super budget!

·
Premium Member
15,352 Posts
almost looks as if you could use some 63in chevy's to do the same thing with... that is if you were super budget!