Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
4,437 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So i broke all 6 ARP hub stud and dowel pins

I swapped to a spare hub assembly w/stock studs, after some research I'm not so sure the ARP studs are worth the money.

isn't it true that the bolts(studs) in a bolted joint theorectically shouldn't take any of the shear load and only be loaded in tension.

Wouldn't cone washers create a better bolted joint and therefore better fit a bolted joint model?

thoughts?

I think as long as they're tight they should be somewhat equal (stock vs ARP)

·
Registered
8,128 Posts
um my ARP's use the cones washer.

It reads like your not using conewashers with the arps. I have been beating on mine for 2 years have never had an issue. A buddy blew out 2 hubgears( before bobby started makign them) with the arps not even flinching.

Biggest issu is tightening

·
Registered
4,437 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
using cone washers on both
I've blown hub gears, dials, chromo hub gears, broken dowel pins and the arp studs haven't broke till now. But would the stock studs have held up too? Nothing would/should have held together a few feet off the ground, full throttle, landing AND I left the front line locks on-- OOPs

just wonder if it is really worth it to run ARP's if the increased shear strenght isn't necessary in a bolted joint

·
Premium Member
15,253 Posts
yeah, if you didn't use the cone washers with your hub, you're an idiot. what did you think was supposed to go in the space where the cone washer used to be?

*edit posted about 1 sec. after you. all of the fasteners that hold the lockout to the hub body have a shear force on them every time you apply power to the wheel. how is shear force not applicable when you have two flat surfaces mounted together with a normal resistance to turning at the same speed, which is based on the friction with the ground?