Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
7,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
yes, i searched, no specific info on the Bates 1130 durashock steel toed boots.

anybody got a pair? i need a new pair of work boots, they need to be steel toed this time, and these look to be great with some good reviews.

also looking at danner but they are a lot more $$$$. i can get the durashocks for about $75 on sale right now. comparable danners are at least 140 and sometimes more :eek:

any feedback on the bates is greatly appreciated :)

·
Registered
1,067 Posts
I work as a corrections officer and I'm on my feet for a while and I wear the Bates brand boots , they are made by Wolverine ! I wear the lightweight lowtop version and they are great , almost like sneakers . I replace mine about every year as they are priced reasonably , I get mine through Quartermaster .

·
Registered
9,708 Posts
I like Danner's boots as evidenced by my owning two pairs of their hunting boots. One pair is an upland field type boot and the other is a waffle tread muck type boot. They are both extremely comfortable and wear well. I applied Sno Seal the first day I got them and it has definitely helped to preserve them. If Danner's work boots are anything like their hunting line, I wouldn't hesitate to get them.

·
Registered
7,533 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
i went to my local army/navy store on friday. they have a huge selection of boots, most brands. i tried a bunch on.

the danners were really nice, very comfy, but equally as expensive.

they had nearly every boot made my wolverine and ga boot company. i have had ga boots before, and liked them, so i tried a bunch on.

i narrowed it down to a pair of danner acadia's, bates M-9s, and a couple of pairs of ga boots.

the bates m-9s won. they are super comfortable and less than half the price of the danners. time will tell how they work when i'm on my feet 5hrs a day in them, so i'll post up again in a couple of weeks.

here they are: