Pirate 4x4 banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
136 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

I'm building what will be a rig I want to travel the USA with, but do some light off-roading to get to the good spots.

I have: an 05 express van, 6l LQ4 engine, 4l80e transmission. It says 3500 but has a 12 bolt rear. I have a 14 bolt from a 93 truck, or access to one from an 06 truck with disc brakes, but I know I'll have to cut and re weld leaf spring shackles because the van is slightly wider. I may wait until a disc brake 14 bolt van width axle appears.

I am rebuilding the engine, and transmission. I am extending the frame 20" to make it the "long wheelbase" express van. I have to cut the rear axle anyway due to the addition of a np214 transfer case.

After this, I have a large covered utility bed I got from an 80s era Ford van (van was scrapped) I will mount to the GM van frame. I'm a college educated welder, and decent with fabrication. I have a shop where I live.

I think the covered utility bed likely weighs a half of a ton, give or take.