Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 47 Posts

·
Registered
840 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
what would be the single best improvement to the dana 30 (besides swapping it for something else)? what are the toughest shafts u can get? are some r&ps stronger than others? im a newbie to the whole axle buildup thing.

·
Registered
2,475 Posts
pyros46290 said:
what would be the single best improvement to the dana 30
Melting it down to scrap!:flipoff2:
The best build up I have seen is the build up of a scrap pile full of D30s and 35s.:D
They actually are not as bad as some axles (D35, AMC 20)
but they are very limiting. Axle shafts with 297x sized u-joints would be the first thing to take care of. A little vehicle info would be helpful, as there are several variations of the D30 that will determine the direction you need to take.

·
Registered
2,010 Posts
Save your money and buy a 44. It is not difficult to get a couple of grand $$$ into a D30 and all you have done is polish a turd.

·
Registered
897 Posts
I think superior just came out with alloy axles for the 30. You could use the alloy axles and CTM'S for a pretty strong combo. I ran 38.5sx's on mine for a year of hard trails and 2 compitition's with a few broken u-joints. And that was with stock spicer axles and u-joints.!! I think it is a good axle to start with untill you get money for bigger axles.Just my.02

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
I think it is a good axle to start with untill you get money for bigger axles
Agree.
I'll be swapping out my Dana 35 rear before I start worrying too much about the 30 up front. :D

·
Registered
10,490 Posts
Don't fawk with it, get a damn 44. All the upgrades are the same $$$.

·
Registered
1,408 Posts
P. S.
SEARCH NEWBIE!! :flipoff2:

Wanderingwillys (i think) has a pretty INSANE lookin' d30 in his XJ.

·
Registered
840 Posts
Discussion Starter #11