Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
6,294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Whats the down side of a block shop. Steel prices have went up so much that steel buildings are getting high, with the hurricanes, wood has went up as well. At this point my most cost effective option for a shop is block. I have guys that will work for beer:) to lay block and finish my concrete.

I just was wondering whats the drawbacks of block. I am looking to build a 24x30 shop. Unfortunately its the biggest I can fit on my property:(

Thoughts, suggestions??

·
Premium Member
1,709 Posts
I have been working out of a 30x50x12 cement block shop for the last 7 or 8 years. The front of the shop is finished in the same brick as the house and two car garage. I like the ability to attach my tube rack to the wall. The electric is all run in conduit, on the surface. I am building a new shop at another location, it is 60x100x16, with a 20x100 shed roof on the back. I went with steel this time, to match the 4stall barn.

·
Registered
213 Posts
heavytlc said:
I have been working out of a 30x50x12 cement block shop for the last 7 or 8 years. The front of the shop is finished in the same brick as the house and two car garage. I like the ability to attach my tube rack to the wall. The electric is all run in conduit, on the surface. I am building a new shop at another location, it is 60x100x16, with a 20x100 shed roof on the back. I went with steel this time, to match the 4stall barn.
I want pics of that 60x100x16 when it gets done!

I'm currently working out of a concrete block garage next to my house. It's fine, except the person that lived here before me (and built the house and garage) built the garage into the side of a hill. This kinda helps keep a good temperature, but it leaks like crazy when we get some major downpours.

So basically, what I'm telling you, is don't build a block wall into the side of a hill.

·
Registered
5,491 Posts