Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so short story long 82 jeep has a transplanted 350 tbi ive been running for several years. i intentionally made it ca smog compliant so i can use it on the roads with no hassle. fast foward to now, been to 4 different smog shops in town and not one of them will bother with it... they look at it like they never saw a v8 in a jeep before and say they cant smog it, take it to a different shop? what am i missing? it has the referee tag on the fire wall, and current registration showing it is legal... i made an appointment to take it back to the ref, am i going to have to do this every time now?

·
Registered
1,116 Posts
If you have the new tag from the Ref already on it. Then I would report every shop that turned you away to the BBB and the State.

That is pure BS and amounts to the smog shop not knowing the law.

They don't want to try and smog it because they believe it will come back to them if something is wrong.

Which is incorrect. If the ref has tagged it and changed it in the system. Then there is no liability to them.

Report the bastards.

·
Registered
149 Posts
Yep...after all the horseshit you (and I on mine) had to do to comply with the laws, there should be no reason that a shop should turn it away. Next April will be the first time I have to do mine since the conversion and I'm curious to see how it goes. I'd let the BAR know what your issues are and see what they recommend. That or keep looking around. You might try a local club and see if anyone knows of a good shop who is familiar with legal conversions.

·
Registered
1,852 Posts
You need to find a better smog shop. When you go to the ref to get it smogged, ask him if he knows any good local area smog shops. Most likely he can point you in the right direction. Most shops won't want to look at it, but I'm guessing there are a few small mom and pop places that would have no problem with it.

Kevo

·
Registered