Pirate 4x4 banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I don't run it but I saw it on two zuks. It is the blue one with like 6 tierods ends. How does it hold up?? It looks like crap to me but Im just curious. The color it self would turn me away.

·
Registered
17,975 Posts
I've had mine for about 8 years or so, and it has worked just fine.

The only problem so far, (and it's not *really* a problem) is that the poly bushings on the idler arm bracket do wear after a few years, and the steering can feel a bit sloppy until you remove a cotter pin, tighten the castle nut and replace said cotter pin with a new one.

I have tightened mine three times in the 8 years of use.

It's called Black paint. Comes in spray cans. Is really cheap. Is really easy to apply.:p

Attachments

·
Registered
343 Posts
I've been running one for about 5 years,no problems.Only
maintenance I've done is retorqing the rod ends once.I
grafted in the tierod adjuster from the OEM steering but
this is unnecessary since once the tierod length was set
I never had to readjust it.I run 32 inch tires and am spring
under.
I felt that the idler arm that the Calmini crossover uses is
a good feature since it helps distibute steering loads to
both frame rails.

·
Registered
343 Posts
horse_with_no_name said:
Steering loads to both frame rails?, a sammy frame is more heavy dury than a j**p frame and you don't see them running this type of crap!
After being around built-up Samurais for a while I'm seeing that
frame strength is not an issue.Kind of surprising considering
they're only 3/32" thick. A lot of Jeeps run a brace from the
steering box over to the opposite frame rail,so yes it was a
problem for them.
The Calmini system was the first to hit the market so thats
what I got and it works for me.It sure as hell beats the "Z"
link when it comes to bump steer.There's a lot more options
on the market now,so buy/build whatever you think is proper.

·
Registered
343 Posts